First Day


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Central Macedonia » Thessaloniki
February 3rd 2007
Published: February 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Across the StreetAcross the StreetAcross the Street

This structure is right across the road from my apartment. I am not sure what it is or was yet.
I woke up this morning and didn't know where I was. It took me a full minute to realize that I was in Greece. Perhaps it would have taken me longer to come to this conclusion, but because of the sounds of birds and motorbikes I knew I was nowhere in Pennsylvania. I know that living here is going to be an adjustment for me, however I already know that I am going to love it. Thessaloniki is an amazing place, and with just one look at the ruins of a Roman arch down the road from me, I fell in love. Here a rich past and a thriving present coexist peacefully.
My apartment is conveniently located near to the school as well as near to the sea. It is smallish, but its mine and I love it! I share a room with another girl which has a set of double doors that lead to a balcony. There are two more bedrooms, a bathroom, and a kitchen. Overall it might be a little challenging, but I think that we are all going to get along fine.
The trip over from the US was long and tiring, but I made all my
Roman ArchRoman ArchRoman Arch

Located on a main road, many people pass under it every day. It makes me curious to know who in history have also passed beneath it.
connections. I'll write more later on the wonders of Austrian airlines, but right now I am not ready to revisit that memory *shudder* (yes, someone did throw up beside me).
Tomorrow we (study abroad students) are going to Athens and onward for a week study tour. I am really excited, and I will update about it when I get back. Well, I am in an internet cafe right now and I don't want a huge bill to pay, so goodbye for now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Another LookAnother Look
Another Look

Here you can catch a glimpse of both structures at once
Oh the horror!Oh the horror!
Oh the horror!

Well, actually I don't think its that bad (after living with a squatty potty and no shower its a great improvement!) No travel is complete without a challenge, and with six girls and this...well, this just might be our challenge.


12th February 2007

European Architecture
I grew up in Tucson, AZ. All of the buildings there are really short. Walking through a European city is an amazing experience what with the buildings being so tall (in comparison) and so beautiful!
13th February 2007

Jealous
Carolyn, I hope you enjoy Greece. I wish that I could visit there but I can't. Instead, I plan to visit through you and your pictures. Enjoy and God bless you. Take the Lord with you each and every day! Love and miss your smiling face but are glad that you get to see the land which the Lord has given us. Dede

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb