Thoughts


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Central Greece » Lamia
July 14th 2010
Published: July 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today I would just like to share some observations I discovered about the people and life here in Greece:

Greece a place where...........

men hug and kiss eachother on the cheek and don't think twice about it

89% of all conversations end with "fila polla" (kisses)

you walk down the street and you will always run into someone you know, stop, wave and chat for a moment

people stop and have a cup of coffee and have an actual conversation (on a daily basis)

there is NO sense of urgency.....

if you don't go to post office by 2pm you are out of luck until tomorrow....maybe

air conditioning is a luxury

"malaka" is used at the end of almost every sentence

you see men driving in trucks filled with watermelon and a loud speaker

These are just a few....The thing I think that is the most different from here and the United States is the hospitality. They think nothing of having a guest in their home; feeding them, taking them around and honestly enjoying their company. I am not saying that people are not like that in the States, I think that it is just different here. Actually I think the biggest difference is how they spend their time. It is so much slower here....having coffee.....having coffee again.....closing their stores to go to the sea (or as they call it "banio")......and staying up until all hours of the night drinking and talking.

So far I have really enjoyed experiencing all of this. This is the first trip where I have spent time with a local that is my age and been able to watch how he lives his life.

Anyway.....Again thank you all for reading what I have to say. This weekend I am going to an island so I will have plenty to write about then. Tomorrow probably the beach....again 😊!!!!!

FILA POLLA

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb