Back in Lamia


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Central Greece » Lamia
July 12th 2010
Published: July 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well it has been a couple days since I last made an entry. That is because I took a 4 day road trip with my friend Kosta. We left on Thursday and drove to Korinthos and visited my old roomates parents at their house in Kiato (which is in Korinthos). They speak English, but there is still some things that are lost in translation. We had planned to stop and see them and then to visit with Kostas friends in the city of Korinthos. Well I must not have relayed that information good enough because they thought I was going to spend the night there.....boy oh boy....did I feel like an pice of you know what!!!!! I am planning on spending a couple of days with them but just not then. So after I insulted them (j/k) we went to dinner. We had a nice evening....then it was off to Korinthos to meet Demetra and Sprios. Kosta met them when he went to S. Africa for the world cup. They are a beautiful couple, both outside and in. They took us to dinner and would not let us pay. We spent the night in Korinthos and they paid for our room (two beds of course), again they would not let us pay.....I couldn't believe how gracious they were. Not just because they paid for our eveing but because they didn't even know me and they were so happy to have visitors. I don't know its hard to explain.

The next morning we continued our trip to Nafplio, on the way there we kind of got lost but not really. We stopped in a city called Argos. In Argos there is a the Larissa ruins. We drove up the mountain, there was no admission and the place was empty. We explored the area and took some great pictures. From the top you could see the city of Argos and all the way to Nafplio. We were there in the late afternoon early evening which made the view even more beautiful.

After a couple hours there we finished the trip to Nafplio. Nafplio looks like it could be a city in Italy. The Palamidi is a fortress on top of a mountain. We climbed about 900 stairs up and 900 stairs down, not including all of the other walking and stair climbing once we were up there. It was amazing to see all of the fortresses. I can't help but wonder what the area was like during that time and how the people lived up there. I believe they used it as protection at one time but were eventually invaded. After the day of climbing we went to the theater of Epidaurus to see a Greek Tradgey. The theatre is absolutley amazing. The acoustics are like no where else, they did not use microphones at all during the play. It seats about 14,000 people and the silence that came over the crowd before the play started was so cool.

The next day it was back on the road. We stopped in Athens so see a couple friends for a coffee and then back on the road again. Before we reached Lamia we made two stops, one to a place I can't remember the name and the other was Karmenovoula. There we had a late snack and then back to Lamia. It was a long but FULL 4 days.....I really enjoyed them. I saw a lot, met some really good people and am ready for the next adventure.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb