Magical Delphi


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Central Greece » Delphi
June 27th 2012
Published: June 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

View from my balconyView from my balconyView from my balcony

We followed the road down the coast to get here.
Another great day of travel. It's always best to set off early, because you never know when random changes might happen to the bus schedule. So I was out of Olympia bright and early, and my first stop was Prygos, which is more on the coast. Then hopped a bus for the two hour drive up to Patras. This is the last big city in the Peloponnese before you cross over to Central Greece over this massive bridge that spans the Gulf of Corinth. This bridge is apparently an engineering masterpiece. Since the region has so many earthquakes, it was built in such a way that it's actually safer to be on the bridge than on land during a quake. Apparently the bridge moves with the shocks, or something like that.

Then drove up the coast for a couple of hours to Amfissa. This is where it got interesting, and downright funny. Another famous drop me off by the side of the highway and point out in really fast Greek where the bus station is. Had absolutely no idea where I was going. But this region of Greece is so incredibly beautiful that you actually like being lost. It honestly
Feels like ColoradoFeels like ColoradoFeels like Colorado

Doesn't this remind you of Colorado?
feels like Colorado. When I was walking into Amfissa I felt like I was going into Vail. Just beautiful mountains and a really mild climate. I didn't mind not knowing where I was, or where the bus stop was. I asked a couple of people and they pointed me in the general direction, and I eventually found it. So that's good. Then took the bus a short 30 minutes or so up the mountains to Delphi.

This is hands down the most beautiful town in Greece. It sits perched on a cliff in the mountains, and is filled with tiny cafes and restaurants. And it's so cool compared to the coast! You don't really need an AC. Spent the evening in town, and had a great dinner of Delphi wine, Delphi olives, and (which was upsetting) a sub-par gyro. Also staying at a great hotel. The wifi only works in the lobby, and that has given me the chance to talk to the owner, an old Greek guy with a limp, quite a bit. His commentary on the news was insightful.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Walking down the road in DelphiWalking down the road in Delphi
Walking down the road in Delphi

This is near the famous ruins.
View towards ruinsView towards ruins
View towards ruins

You can kind of see a ruined temple in the distance.
Sunset over DelphiSunset over Delphi
Sunset over Delphi

There is no bad view in town. I was having a great Greek coffee at the time.


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb