Rome to Athens (Attica)


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica
June 14th 2012
Published: June 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Thursday 14 June 2012.

Rome to Athens

It was pretty easy getting to the airport by train and the flight was only an hour and a half. Getting from Athens Airport to Port of Pireaus however, was another story; another hour and a half journey on a crowded bus with standing room only. I could have taken a taxi but it would have been way too expensive, so I put up with the bus for €5. Other tourists on the whole are friendly and help each other out, so I was offered a seat about half way into the journey by a fellow traveller from Norway. Different story with the locals and airport staff travelling on the same bus; they were not even going to look at the tourists, let alone speak to them or offer them their seats.



However, I survived and arrived at my hotel, Phidias Piraeus Hotel, just in time for an early meal and an early night. I have to give this little hotel top marks. For under €40 per night, I had a quiet, modern, clean room, private bathroom and free WIFI. Okay it wasn’t huge, but for a short stay
Smoking booths Athens airportSmoking booths Athens airportSmoking booths Athens airport

A lot of Italian and Greek people smoke. At least Greece is doing something about it!
this hotel is ideal and very close to the port for my cruise departure tomorrow.



The hotel staff are very friendly and super helpful. A lady named Lia at the front desk was wonderful, advising me where to shop for another carry bag, something inexpensive to eat, finding a bank and providing me with an iron and a kettle with coffee/tea supplies to make myself a drink late into the night. Nothing is too much trouble for Lia and all done with a smileJ


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb