Had a Great Time In Athens!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
May 31st 2005
Published: May 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone.
It is 9:36p here and we are getting ready to settle in for the night.
We spent the day in Athens today and it was a really nice city. We went on an guided tour since we have never been here before.
First we went to the Parthenon but as soon as we got there it started to rain pretty hard and I refused to walk in the rain so Mom and I stayed in the bus and Brittany and Dad walked up to see it. I told Mom she shouldn't worry about not seeing the Parthenon because she can see it in the movie Hurcules. We also saw the original Olympic stadium built in 1886 and the new one as well from the last Olympic games. There were a lot of stadiums built for the different sporting events and they were all in the same area. I loved the old one the most, it was really cool looking and I took pictures of it with the 5 rings that symbolize the 5 continents!
We saw a lot of other really nice things including the Greek Parliament building with guards that I think are made of wood; note from Mom-they were real people.
We ate in an ancient area called Plaka and we had lunch there. We ordered pizza and left the meal without eating it because it tasted very different and I didn't like the way it looked, I guess Greek food is not for me yet?
I bought Athenian war helmet that has a nose plate and a plume that looks like a broom with a tail and I everytime I put it on people would take pictures of me, it was very funny.
We are now on our way to Santorini, Greece. We'll be there sometime tomorrow morning. Thanks for all the great notes and please keep writing!
I'll fill you in tomorrow.....
Love, Michael Conner
Special Notes:
Hi Laraine-we can't post pictures here, we are using the computer in our suite and we don't have the necessary wires, etc., so we'll post them when we return home.
Cousin JoAnn-the kids in the playroom are mostly American and English. It is usually the same kids all the time and I really like playing with them!
Hi Aunt Anita-I will check my email today, I didn't check it last night. Hope you and Jackie are well-Miss you! Keep writing!
Roe-Hi, yes we did visit all the Olympic stadiums, I really liked them too! I'm glad your enjoying sharing my travels, thanks for writing!



Advertisement



31st May 2005

=)
Hey Michael! Im really glad you are having such an awesome time on your trip! It sounds amazeing so far - I know the rest of your trip is going to be awesome, too, so keep journaling and keep me updated! I love hearing from you. What has been your favorite experiences on this trip so far, overall? You'll have to show me a picture of you in that helmet when you come home! I saw Poppy when I was working. He misses you very very much, I could tell! Take care of Brittany and be good to your parents, as you always are!! I love you Michael! Have a great time! TAKE LOTS OF PICTURES!! X0X <3 always - Katie MELSON - Katie

Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb