WOW, Santorini, Greece!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Santorini
June 1st 2005
Published: June 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone-today we were on the Greek island of Santorini, I really loved it here!
When we opened the windows this morning the first thing we saw was one of the most beautiful islands. The top of the mountains were covered with whitewashed and sea blue adobe type houses, hotels, churches and cathedrals. I really like it here.
We had to tender (small boat) over to the island because our ship could not get close enough to the island. Once we arrived on the island, we had 3 choices to get up the very high, vertical mountain, 1. 600+stairs 2. cable car 3. donkey. Guess what choice I made? Yes, the donkey. Mom, Dad, Brittany and I each got our own donkey, they gave me a smaller one. Mom was so afraid the whole time we were on the donkeys because she thought they were going to jump over the low wall and worried that Brittany or I would not hold on tight enough as the donkey would walk right against the wall on the cliff side of the mountain. Thankfully, we made it safe and sound. I LOVED the donkey ride except they are VERY smelly and had a lot of flies around them. My dad's donkey hit me with his tail 2 times in the leg and mommy was hit in the face with her donkey's tail when she got off him-that really made me laugh. We took the cable car on the way down, mom refused to get back on the donkey! So far, the donkey ride was my favorite thing.
We returned to our boat late in the afternoon to rest and then tendered back to Santorini for a sunset dinner (cable car both ways) in a mountain top restaurant. It was beautiful, the sun was bright red and the weather was great.
Tomorrow we are at sea the entire day sailing toward Italy again, this time Rome. I'll talk to you all then.
Good Night and thanks for all the great notes!! Keep them coming.
Love,
Michael Conner
Note from Michelle: the night view of Santorini (we are here until 11:00p tonight) is breathtaking, WOW, what a nice place! The Greek people were so nice to us and they loved Michael Conner (they LOVE children).

Advertisement



1st June 2005

I love your journal...
I loved the donkey ride description!!! ;) Sounds like you guys had a ball ;) Reading your journal is a little like a treasure hunt - I don't know what's gonna happen next ;) But I hope you enjoy every little bit of it! Looking forward to reading about your other adventures. Are you going to see the new Pope in Rome? Love you! - Asia
1st June 2005

Hi Michael Conner, Happy, to know that you all made it safely up the mountain on the donkeys. It sounds very scary.Keeping having fun. Love you Aunt Irene - Aunt Irene
2nd June 2005

I would have chosen the donkey to Mikey. I'm enjoying reading your entries. Grandapa called me the other day and was totally cornfused (that spelling is not a misstake) on how to make an entry. I don't know where he's sending them but whoever he emailed told him to get help using the computer. Anyway glad you all are having a great time. Love you all, Aunt Anita - Aunt anita`
2nd June 2007

Michael Conner. Did you know that someone else many years ago rode to town on jackass similiar to what you rode in Greece. Hope you are having fun. Biagio, Noah, Aunt Cindy and Uncle Gerard

Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb