Athens


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
December 23rd 2015
Published: January 16th 2016
Edit Blog Post

SURPRISE!!!

Greece is freaking amazeballs! =D

I knew it was going to be cool... but I had NO . IDEA ! what I was in for on my second stop! Talk about Paradise! My friend Dimitri, whose parents are Greek-born American citizens, asked me what it was that had me completely flipped for Greece and it is hard to explain it, but I’ll try.

The weather and the land and the greens and the blues and the air and the coasts and the many islands and the great prices and THE FOOD and the laughter—more laughter in the background when you are walking through the streets than any other place I’ve been in Europe, and the outgoing, generous, hospitality offered by everyone you interact with… the feeling of how you are truly, fully living your life to your heart’s content, in this moment… I became meditative as I watched the sun setting into the sea, behind the clouds over the Acropolis.

I am here. Right now. This is what I am doing. This is my life. This is what I have done with it. I love me. Life is good.

“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” – Ferris Bueller

This was a great place to spend Christmas Day. I called Dad and got to feel kinda like I was home for the holidays when my brother got on the phone and we were all joking together. I really am lucky to have such a great father and brother to support me and keep me smiling. Shout out! Love you guys!

The German dudes hosted a Christmas party in the common room and were obsessed with Wham’s “Last Christmas” for some reason? Anyway, they were the coolest people I met on my trip. They were very clever and fun and I hope to meet them again later in 2016.

Maybe Kotor, Montenegro in March? :D


Additional photos below
Photos: 61, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb