Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
December 19th 2015
Published: January 16th 2016
Edit Blog Post

For winter break this year, I traveled south again, towards the warm Mediteranean.

Rome was the first of my four-city holiday tour. I was happy with the weather and the amazed that I wasn’t even a block from the train station when I came across my first ancient ruins. I heard it said once that Rome is “a layer cake of building over thousands of years” or something like that. Anyway, it’s true. The number of ancient ruins purposefully scattered throughout the most common areas in the large city is astonishing.

On my way back to my room, I saw a mother walking home from school with two boys and I started thinking how I cannot even imagine what it would be like to be born and raised among these ruins as if that were normal. I had been slightly feeling as if I were a character walking through a live-action history story. (I’m an odd duck, in case you just tuned in).

As someone who loves Italian food, I can safely say that food I have eaten in Italy was underwhelming. I would rank it last out of all the places I’ve visited thus far. Last year I was in Venice and after this year in Rome I am certain that the Italian food I can make in my kitchen is much tastier than pasta in Italy. But don’t worry, I didn’t go hungry, lol

Stay tuned for the next stop to hear about some of my favorite food so far!


Additional photos below
Photos: 53, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb