Shopping of course!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
May 11th 2008
Published: May 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

First full day in Greece and it was busy. We went to the Monastiraki Market where you can get anything from furniture to fruit. Too bad we couldn't bring back a couple of antique tables!
We did find a 'few' things to buy. We went to the poet sandal maker. He is famous for his greek sandals and had a story written about him in the Calgary Herald which he has posted in his window. The store is about 30 sq feet with sandals hanging all over the place. You decide which ones you want and then they size the sandal for your foot. E23.00! Pasmini scarfs are also everywhere and very cheap.
We are getting around on the Metro train. A high speed, improved version of the C-Train. The train stations are underground with marble floors and walls. The trains are a great way to get around and very easy. We took the train in from the airport. We had Chicken souvlaki in a pita and Mythos beer for lunch. Both were excellent for total of E12.00. On our way out of the market, we bought strawberries and cherries.
Tonight we went to the Parliament Building and walked around the national gardens. These places are in
the Athen's city center. Very easy to get around as long as we have our map and Jessica's guide book!
Good news, my luggage will be delivered tommorrow. What a relief! Can you image me wearing the same outfit for 3 weeks😊
One thing Jessica is trying to get me to remember is pedestrian's do not have the right of way in Greece. She learned this important lesson in England but I am having a hard time with it. The scooters may get me yet!








Advertisement



12th May 2008

right-of-way
your lucky to have to Jess to take care of u, she saved me many, many times from getting run over in London!
13th May 2008

Hi
Did you guys get any sandals? Hope you are having fun. Glad you got your suitcase Darlene. :) Watch out for the cars, LOL are they on the wrong side of the road to?
13th May 2008

hi
Hi Tara, The cars are on the right side of the road but it is still tricky. If you are around our house one day, please show your Dad how to send us a message! He said he sent us something but it did not show up. Darlene
13th May 2008

Hi
This blog is great! Sounds like you tow are really having an adventure. By the way Darlene, I got my bday card, thanks, then last nite I got your Mom's at my address as well! (I will make sure she gets it!) Have fun!
14th May 2008

hi
Hope you had a good birthday and mother's day! I sent out a bunch of cards, I wonder which other ones I screwed up. I am sure I had 2 cards in Mom's envelope. Oh, well. It has been a great trip so far. Athen's is unique but we have seen most everything in 4 days so it is a good time to leave. Hopefully the islands are just as good. Talk to you soon.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb