Greece on a Beast


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens » Pláka
October 10th 2021
Published: September 29th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Not really, unless you consider a bicycle a "beast" of sorts. When I was here in May, it was too darn hot to go on any bike tour, morning, afternoon or night. But I think October, now, is going to work out. Here is what I am going to do. First, take a bike tour and get the "lay of the land" for two wheels. With the plethora of cobbled streets, I plan to be extra careful, ride slowly, and try to stop as often as possible.Here is my general itinerary. You will see many famous places along the way.Like most tours, everything starts at the Acropolis Museum. In fact, I spent most of my time last May in the shadows of the Acropolis Museum, my hotel was less than a block away. And it might have been the coolest (both as a museum and in temperature) in the city.Herod Atticus Odeon, a beautiful Roman amphitheaterPnyx (I wonder how they pronounce this?)National Observatory of AthensThiseio, a scenic local neighborhoodKeremeikos CemeteryAncient Agora of Athens, the birthplace of democracy<br style="-webkit-font-smoothing: antialiased;" />Roman AgoraTower of the WindsMetropolitan Cathedral of Athens, one of the biggest Orthodox churches in AthensAdrianou Street, the main market street in PlakaPlaka, the old town (where I like to stay and dine)Hadrian's Library (I forgot my library card)PhilopappouFethiye MosqueThe Acropolis, the most important archealogical site in GreeceParthenon, the most important ancient Greek templeNational GardenPresidential MansionPanathenaic Stadium, hosted the first OlympicsZappeion Conference Center, one of the most beautiful neoclassical building in GreeceTemple of Olympian ZeusArch of Hadrian (Pili tou Adrianou), the most photographed monument in AthensThere is a maximum of twelve cyclists. It is a three hour tour (sounds like Gilligan's Island?) I get a helmet, and pick up and drop off at my hotel!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb