Burghausen - the longest castle in Europe and window view to Austria


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
August 23rd 2009
Published: August 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Burghausen was not anywhere in my travel plans. Before that I did not even know this town existed. The destination of whole trip was to get to couchsurfing meeting in Vienna and to visit a friend in Germany before it. So I managed to hitchhike to Prague, where my friend picked me up and then I had to find some way to get to Vienna. Luckily for me there were few people offering a ride to Vienna for this meeting and I wrote message to Jackie. She answered fast and positive and that's how I got to Burghausen.
We entered town in the evening and were surprised how peaceful, calm and charming it was. It had usual layout of these small German towns, with main square in middle, a church and nice colorful houses along the pebbled road. One thing there was really significant - a huge castle situated on a hill. My hostess came in few minutes with her other guest and greeted us warmly. We still had some time until dinner was made, so we went for a walk to... Austria. Just across the river there was Austria. We crossed the bridge where the border guard used to stand. Moon was shining and we could see it and town lights in the dark water of river. We turned around and there was the magnificent castle, all lit up. Jackie told us that this castle was not for duke himself, but for his women.
After a little stroll in Austria we came back to Germany and back home where dinner was ready. Nice food, soul music, good vine, great company and interesting talk made that evening something that you could call "almost perfect". As there are so few things I would call perfect, almost perfect is a high rating. And all time in Burghausen (I spent there 4 days) was somehow in this nice pace. Blues breakfast, cooking, chatting - all with my hostess Jackie in her apartment which is filled with all sorts of books, many kinds of music and you have a window view to Austria. She made is special for me there. Town was charming too I would say. Burghausen is a town where you walk around slowly its streets filled with flowers, watch fast flowing river and sometimes cross bridge over it to gain perspective on the other side, enjoy a book in the near 500 year old fountain. One of those days I went up to the castle. I think that each castle has different feeling to it, just like every town. Some of them, even if they are big and look amazing, do not make such a big impression as other ones. I think that they have some inner aura in them which makes visitors like it or not. Burghausen castle was one of most impressive castles I have been to. Maybe it is because it felt like it had still so much of the past left there. Or maybe it was party because of lack of tourists strolling around there.
One morning we left Burghausen for Vienna. I do not know if all small towns have this charm in them or is Burghausen special, or was it the people around that made it special to me. All in all this unexpected travel point was a real highlight of my journey.




Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

In the castle In the castle
In the castle

Very Hobbit-like place


24th August 2009

What a ...!
... compliment! Thank you very much :-))) I am glad to read how much you liked it here. I consider the days you have spent here very special too :-) Jacquie :-)

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 14; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb