Salzburg - the town of "Sounds of Music" and being lazy there


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Salzburg » Salzburg
September 1st 2009
Published: September 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

“So maybe for a day you would like to go to Salzburg?” - my hostess Jackie wrote to me. And the next day in the morning she dropped me off at hitchhiking point about 20 km away from Salzburg. I got my ride in just 5 min - a truck driver from Bosnia stopped. We did not have common language, so we did not manage to talk more, but it was short ride anyway. I got off at outskirts of town, but soon I got to the center. Before I got there I did not know what this town is famous for and apparently it is where Mozart was born and where musical “Sounds of Music” was filmed. It is really has spectacular scenery - mountains all around. The town itself is nice, has many interesting attractions (like Christmas and Easter shops that are open all year long) and a castle. The castle was nice, but did not have the same effect as one in Burghausen. There is a legend that one time when castle was under siege people thought of idea how to trick the enemy. They showed a bull, as a sign that they have food and the other day they repainted the bull and showed it again. So enemy thought that they have food for long time and stopped the siege. So now there are colored bulls all around.
One guy from couchsurfing met me up in town and showed me around a little. I was quite lazy that day, so most of time we spent just on river bank enjoying the sun. In evening we had couchsurfing meeting. It was small meeting at home of Sara. She is the other very energetic person I met on the trip. When my hostess Jackie and she are in one place, the place is bursting in energy, laughter and fun.
The next day after that was the day that Jackie, Tomas and me left to Vienna.





Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb