Day 1 - Frankfurt/Munich


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
May 22nd 2009
Published: May 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I flew out of Houston yesterday afternoon on Lufthansa, and arrived this morning in Frankfurt, Germany. Since all drinks on Lufthansa international flights are free, including alcoholic ones, I tried a Campari Orange, an aperitif, that my flight neighbor recommended. It was kind of bitter but still enjoyable, and probably the only thing I enjoyed on that flight. It was too long and too cramped for my liking. Spending 10 hours in the smallest possible window seat and unsuccessfully trying to fall asleep at 6 PM Houston Time/ 1 AM Frankfurt Time isn't something I'm looking forward to doing again, unsurprisingly. My flight neighbor was quite chatty. A sprightly woman of maybe 50 years, she lived in Austin and planned on visiting her mother in Germany for 10 days. As she scanned through a German magazine, our topic of conversation bounced from Arnold Schwarzenegger, Dirk Nowitzki, and swine flu. You know, the usual.

After arriving at the airport in Frankfurt and picking up my luggage, I headed to the train station. About two weeks ago, I bought a 10 day Euro Rail Pass for Germany, France, and Spain. The pass allows me to travel on most trains in these countries as much as I want for any 10 days in a 2 month period. I used my first day on a ticket from Frankfurt to Munich. I got to Munich around 2 pm, and after some much needed sleep on the train, I set out to find a hostel to stay in for the night. To my dismay, all 4 of the hostels near the train station were completely booked for the night. At this point, I realized I should have listened to my dad when he told me to pack lighter. Walking around carrying over 50 lbs is pretty tiring.
I finally found one about 2 miles away around 5 pm. For 20 euro, I get a bed in a room with 3 others and a private bathroom--pretty sweet. I just took a shower, and now I'm in the center of the city sitting in a Burger King using their free wireless to post my first of, hopefully many, blog posts here in Europe.

P.S. I just read over what I wrote, and it seems like I'm a huge whiner. Haha don't worry, I'm actually having fun too. The weather here is amazing right now. I have to admit it's a little daunting though; being out here on my own having to figure things out for myself. There is definitely a rush.

Wow, I'm definitely going to have to cut down on the photos on my subsequent posts. That took way too long.




Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



22nd July 2009

Hi I'm from Houston, and some friends and I decided to go to Europe, starting with Frankfurt, to see a friend who is station there next year. So I be reading intently to your post, and hope you have a blast

Tot: 0.279s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb