Passau, Breaking down the language barriers


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
May 18th 2009
Published: May 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Got my trip and travel gear at the first hotel... (All info in Deutsch - you all know how well I speak german - Shitzen houzer!!!! Spent the rest of the day looking throughout Passau for maps and guide notes in English (Australian would be better still)... Everyone - especially the 'Hottie' working at the info centre were great.... Met a young fella there also from Chillz (Vincent) who was also struggling with the lingo.. Man this dude has a major touch of Tristan in him.. same age, has ridden from Salzburg on a bike he bought there, loaded up with all his worldy possessions (Including guitar) with no cycle repair kit ( and doughy tyres).... I helped him out and agreed to see if we'd catch up in the morning on the way out of Passau...#

Sunday Morn... Early, headed to the cycle garage - It looked like damnation alley )arsehole of the world, no sign of life - crppy directions that even the locals hadn't seen since the fall of Rome (and I´m in friggin Germany)!!! Modern day technology to the rescue.... 38,000 phone calls later, all credit on the phone exhaused - a phone operator that repeatedly says - U nein sprechin sie deutch & this little Aussie bleeder is getting 'PISSED OFF'.... 3 cab drivers and 22 eutros later, I find the 'new' address that some F%&§er has forgotted to let me know about....

I'm on my way, Yep - (the other side of the world & I'm late as usual)... The experince from there has been priceless - views, people etc... too good....

I need to down load pictures so you can also appreciate some of this and I can add captions....

Took a break just near the Austrian Border... who cruises past - Vincent.... This guy is on a mission to get to Linz before nightfall - 100km to go with his destination Vienna by 28th of May (I told hime to adjust his schedule before he kills himself before I wished him good luck and a safe journey)...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.294s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb