10 Hours in Munich


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
August 7th 2008
Published: November 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Munich airport still hoping that the people there would tell me that the flight I was supposed to take was still on and I could leave within the hour but I wasn't so lucky. I was given a voucher for breakfast and lunch and then sent on my way. I called home to see what I could do once I got into Copenhagen as it would be late and I didn't know if the trains and buses in Copenhagen ran late at night. I was thinking that I might have to spend the night in Copenhagen. Luckily mum knew a lady who lived in Copenhagen and was able to contact her for me. She would give me a place to stay if I needed it or would at least help me out.

I now had 10 hours to kill in Munich airport. It actually went a lot faster than I thought. In the beginning I had breakfast and I read the paper. Then I began exploring. The vouchers they had given me really weren't enough for a decent breakfast and so I found a small convenient store in the downstairs part of the airport and bought some pineapple pieces and a drink. It was good to just sit down and eat while watching the people walk by. The next thing I did was find a computer with internet and emailed people which entertained me for another hour. I bought some postcards and was directed to a post shop within the airport so I posted a few of them. I had BK for lunch and sat outside in the sun. There was a beach volley ball tournament on inside the airport because of the Olympics and so I watched that too. Then I went back inside and watched people walk past, it was actually very interesting. There were a lot of dogs which was a suprise because generally there are no dogs inside buildings in NZ. I looked at a few shops but I didn't have much cash on me because I wasn't supposed to stay for more than an hour. I went back upstairs into the main airport and through customs to have a late lunch. Then I found a television and watched the opening ceremony of the Olympics. I must have watched it for more than an hour but never saw NZ come on before it was time for my plane to board. I was upgraded to business class because of the inconvenience but all that really meant was a free meal, which wasn't all that nice. It was a spacious plane though so I was disappointed it was such a short flight!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb