Uneventful weekend


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Trier
November 14th 2005
Published: November 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Not much happened this weekend. Fri. I met with Thomas, the guy that I'm helping with his English conversation. I ended up having a really bad headache, so after that I decided to just stay home and go to bed early. It was kinda nice to just relax. I then got up early to work on more of my reading. I spent all day Sat. reading and trying to understand the readings, but as of yet, now luck. After reading all day I was also exhausted so I went to bed early again so I could get up early Sun. and start reading again. Read all morning Sun. (I still don't have much an idea of what I read). It's getting really frustruating. Oh well, I knew it wasn't gonna be easy.

Sun afternoon and evening was really nice though. In the afternoon, I met some of my neighbors!!! =) Kerstin, lives across the hall from me invited everyone on our floor over to her place for Coffee and cake. Unfortuneately only 3 of us could come (4 counting her). On one side of me lives Hannah. she's from Romania and on the other side is Ju. He's from Japan. Kerstin is from Germany (and actually doesn't live far from Sundern) =) They're all really really nice. We ended up hanging out at Kerstin's place for about 4 hours. It was great.

After I left Kerstin's place I had to get my stuff together and head to the bus stop. Nils had reserved a table for a group of us at Astrix for dinner to celebrate his b-day. I met Jaime and her boyfriend at the bus stop, was glad I didn't have to take the bus into town by myself. Due to some road construction, the bus route was different yesterday. We ended up getting off at a station that neither of us knew where it was. Luckily we had a vague idea, so we were able to find our way to Astrix. It was a really fun night. Nils had invited a variety of friends. I ended up spending most of the night talking with his Ex, Sandra. She was really really nice. We're going ice skating with Nils and probably Jaime and Matt on Sat. should be fun. It was a fun night just hanging out with friends. It was also nice to have a break from my stupid readings. ยด

I guess all in all the weekend wasn't too bad. I just had figured with having Thur. and Fri off I would be able to get most of my hw done then and have the weekend to enjoy myself. Wrong. I need all four days and even then it's though. I'll get used to it though.

Oh, this is kinda random, but I forgot to write about it last week. Everyone talks about the how Germans are so organized and for the most part that is very true. In fact sometimes waaaaaay tooooo organized that it makes things too complicated. We were given Student ID cards a couple weeks ago (Tunika). With the ID card you can put money on it and use it at the dinning hall, to do laundry, make copies and print papers. Easy enough, right? Think again. Matt and I went to ask how to put money onto the card so we could make copies. Here's what you have to do... First you have to put money onto the 'Money Card' account, then you have to put your card in a machine that then transfers the money from the 'Money Card' account to the 'Copy' account. Problem... that machine is currently not working and they have no idea when it will be fixed. hmm.... sure. Then we asked about printing. That's a whole different account. Again you have to put money onto the 'Money Card' account and then take it to a certain office dedicated to printing and they have to transfer the money to the 'Printing' account. It's all on the same dang card!!! It really can't be that complicated, but yep it is. Sometimes I wonder about these Germans. It's all very organized, but I mean come on... wouldn't it be so much simpler if all you had to do was put money onto the card and then be able to use it anywhere instead of having to put money onto the card and then have it transfered to different accounts to make copies, print papers, do laundry, etc.? Way too complicated for me. Anyway, just wanted to write about that 'cause I thought it was kinda interesting and shows how Germans work sometimes. Nothing here can be simple, it's just not right. lol

Ok, have a great day everyone! Miss ya! Ciao!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb