We lost one in the Rhine Valley!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Koblenz
June 20th 2006
Published: June 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

On the RhineOn the RhineOn the Rhine

Me and Scott enjoying a laugh about something or other. The guy has a real 'English' sense of humour!
Day 18, 18th June.

Wesserling - Bonn - Remagen

A bit Queezy!!! I was up all night with the worse sickness and diarrhea I’ve ever had. I didn’t realize my body could contain so much puke, yuch! Rory helped me out and stood in some of my vomit in the process. It must have been some sort of food poisoning. At 10.30 we set off, I felt weak, but we found the Rhein and continued to Bonn where the guys got their bikes fixed and other bits added too… Toby became one of the ‘Brookes squad’ and then his front pannier rack broke!

At Remagen we stocked up on food, after only about 30 miles I was weak, we decided to camp on the site there. It was raining as I pitched tent at 5pm. I got in without eating and slept till 8am the next morning!

Total Miles: 751.62 Todays Miles: 28.62 Average speed: 9.5 Time on bike: 3:00


Day 19, 19th June.

Remagen - Koblenz - St Goar

Still feeling a touch queezy, I carried on with the group down a misty Rhein valley, this part of the trip will be
Helen and Rajeev.Helen and Rajeev.Helen and Rajeev.

Thank you for putting us up in you garden... and for letting us finish off all your 'minitures' you'd collected over the years!
remembered for frequent trots to the loo. I have no appetite, and the guys keep trying to get me to eat. Scott is funny, always laughing about something, not your typical Texan.

After a good days cycling we decide to stop at StGoar, there’s a good camping place with loos, I spend a lot of time there!

We camp with one of our group missing, Leslie, she’s headed off east. She left this morning when I was too out of it to say a proper goodbye. She has a job to go to in Lutherstadt-Wittenberg, in the former East Germany and I’m sure we’ll be in touch…

Total Miles: 804.07 Todays Miles: 52.45 Average speed: 9.9 Time on bike: 5:16 Time on the Bog: 3:04 !



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Top Hat!Top Hat!
Top Hat!

I really don't remember this pic being taken?
Koblenz.Koblenz.
Koblenz.

Me and Scott at the place where the Rhein meets the Mosel.
Remangen.Remangen.
Remangen.

The Rhine bridge at Remagen was blown up during the war by the allies. This is all that remains.
The Rhein.The Rhein.
The Rhein.

How do the parisioners get to this church in the middle of the river!?
Camping St Goar.Camping St Goar.
Camping St Goar.

Idyllic camp-site at St Goar.


22nd October 2006

It is not a church !!!!!!

Tot: 0.4s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 19; qc: 105; dbt: 0.1883s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb