Adventures in Babysitting and Conversing in Germany


Advertisement
Published: May 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Japanjscher GartenJapanjscher GartenJapanjscher Garten

Japan in Germany.
These past few days have been for relaxing. Angie is running around trying to get all her paperwork done for the army, so if she has some problems with that, you won't be hearing from me for a few days. But I'll start blogging again after they get resolved.

In the meantime, I'm babysitting AJ while Angie and her husband run around and take care of some of the paperwork. He's pretty cute. This leads to another first time life experience: the first time I ever changed a diaper was in Germany! I've watched babies before, but never any as young as him (he's 3 months) and never long enough to have to worry about changing them. Luckily it wasn't anything messy! He's napping right now.

We didn't do much yesterday. We went into Kaiserslautern and visited the Japanese Garden there. Yep, we went to a Japanese Garden in Germany! It was beautiful, and it reminded me a lot of China (I've never been to Japan to do a direct comparison). It was a lot smaller than what we thought it would be, but it was still worth going to, even if it's just to walk around. Then
Pretty, pretty flowers!Pretty, pretty flowers!Pretty, pretty flowers!

A sampling of the flora found in the Japanese Garden.
we went to the Bohnhof in Kaiserslautern and bought train tickets to PARIS!! Yay! We're leaving on the train 8:00am on May 15th, and then we're coming back around 9:30pm on May 17th. It's about a 4 hour train ride from here, but I love trains. We're going to be there for 3 days and we're going to see Versailles also. Angie is excited too, but only because we're going to Versailles. She's only been there one other time, and it was yucky outside. Now since it's spring the gardens will be up, and it will be gorgeous. Angie has also declared that this is the last time she's EVER going to Paris. This will be her whopping 5th time there.

After that we went to Angie's post to check on some of her paperwork. She didn't get very good news, so that kinda sucked the wind out of our sails. Then she talked to Joe, her husband, and then we wanted to get something quick to eat so we could go home and relax. So, we cheated and ended up going to a German Burger King (we were too tired to care about authentic German food OR healthy
Rearranging the rocksRearranging the rocksRearranging the rocks

This looked like it was fun.
food). I learned that I should either just order food in English or tell them I only know a little German. I tried to order my food in German, and evidently I did it well enough that they continued to talk to me in German and then I didn't know what else they were saying. Luckily, they spoke English, and I finished my order in English. Sometime I'll be able to figure out this language stuff!

When we got home more adventures in language bending occurred. Angie and I did some calling to a couple of Parisian hotels to find a place to stay. Both times we called, neither of them spoke English. Angie can speak French better than I can (I'm better at French spelling, reading, grammer, and sentence structure than she is, but I can't speak it on my feet very well) so that was interesting. At one point Angie accidently used German, and accidenlty said "Si" instead of "Oui." But we succeeded in finding a Parisian hotel open to American servicepeople and their families and friends that was really cheap! It's on the edge of Paris (the name is Hotel-Residence Voltaire) and it's only 52 Euros
Flowers are coolFlowers are coolFlowers are cool

Anyway, AJ thinks so...
a NIGHT! The catch is you have to have military ID to show them, so we're good!

Well, not much else is going on here. Just relaxing in Germany. We're going out tonight to an actual German restaurant to eat, but that's it for a few days. Angie's pretty frazzled right now. But I'll update again when I can!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Fruity German Roadside AdvertismentsFruity German Roadside Advertisments
Fruity German Roadside Advertisments

I liked this one. A lot.


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb