Day One


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Bacharach
July 2nd 2012
Published: July 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

BacharachBacharachBacharach

Still as picturesque as always?
Well, we're here!

We had an uneventful, if cramped, flight. I think I am going on a diet before I attempt another overseas flight! Seriously, it was much more uncomfortable than it used to be. I must be getting old.

Elizabeth couldn't get to sleep, so she was pretty tired today. She carried on like a real trooper, though, and I was real proud of her. I kept her up until 7pm (I was trying for 8), and when she collapsed her last words were "I promise I won't wake up" becaused I had warned her about going to bed too early and then waking up at 3am.

She said our most interesting experience today was lnavigating the train station at Mainz. Our train from Franknfurt was delayed in route, and we missed our conecting train at Mainz. So I had to find a later train, exchange our tickets, and find what track the new train was on - all in German. And Elizabeth found out about European public restrooms wth the little lady attendant and the pay turnstile. I'm not sure what impressed her more, my German or the pay toilets. Probably the toilets!

It's 8pm
Sleeping BeautySleeping BeautySleeping Beauty

Note it is still daylight outside. Try getting her to do that at home!
now (the church bell just rang) so I think I will walk down to the neighborhood wine stube and sample some of the local fare. That is IF my. Eyes can stay open that long.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Just outside PensionJust outside Pension
Just outside Pension

It is actually built right into the original (13th century) town wall.
Veiw from one of the town's towersVeiw from one of the town's towers
Veiw from one of the town's towers

Rhine in the background
LizzieLizzie
Lizzie

Trying to look cool and stay warm. It was only about 70 degrees today.
Pension MalerwinkelPension Malerwinkel
Pension Malerwinkel

Lizzie's first "will you take our photograph" moment
Stone arch bridgeStone arch bridge
Stone arch bridge

There's no other support - I checked


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb