Dreilander Punkt


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia
August 28th 2008
Published: October 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Oops...I missed a few days, but it's ok because not a ridiculously large amount has happened since my last journal entry. Yesterday our class took a small afternoon feild trip to Dreilander Punkt. (Three countries point. The Neatherlands, Belgium and Germany) This is where they have the giant maze of shrubberies ("Ones that look nice, but aren't too expensive.") Alicia, Nick, and I were the last one's to find out way through and that was only after we had Karl's help...and after falling and accidently rolling under a fence toward an adjacent path...

The most entertaining part of that day, though, was the few minutes that Joe, Nick, Alicia, Karl, Bailey and I spent at a bench waiting for the rest of the group. We had hopped on a Taxi-Van-esque thing to go up the hill to Dreilander Punkt, but when Eva and Melanie told us to get in the van they didn't know that the next one wasn't coming for anoher half hour. And we still would have needed two more taxis to get all of us there, so the poor suckers walked all the way to Dreilander Punkt. It really wasn't that far, but it still took them a considerable amount of time to get up the hill. We had a lovely time waiting though. We told a ton of lame jokes and San Francisco Joe had the best ones. Nick stepped in dog poop. We took pictures of our feet. The difference between spandex and lycra was argued and we most definitely did a fair amount of past-relationship-horror-story-telling...This all happened yesterday. Today was nothing special really. We had language class like normal, but we all got together for pizza afterwards. The pizza in Europe is absolutely amazing by the way. I had one tonight that was made with spinat, champingons, and zwiebeln..Nom, nom! Before pizza though I had an appointment with a different language course place. Apparently at this point they still don't think my German is very good...however, I must admit that this is quite factual. I went there with Monika first and took a little test. (I'm in level one) Afterwards Nick and I went to the bookstore and I was surprisingly tempted to purchase the German version of the Brothers Karamazov. Tonight was my first time seeing Aachen after dark. It's really a shame that we sleep during the most beautiful time of the daily cycle.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Pommes Frites Man!Pommes Frites Man!
Pommes Frites Man!

I photographed him because his appearance was slightly sketchy...


Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0147s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb