N.D. ROCKS!!!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia
August 12th 2008
Published: September 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The usual routine. Breakfast, shower, camp, lovliness. I enjoy learning German, not just because it makes me feel like less of an idiot, but because I consider it to be a very beautiful language. I'm facinated by the English language and even more so by the German one. We had two special guests come to speak with us today. We were all geared up for some important politician or George Clooney, but it was only two ASSE Alumnae. They had participated about six or so years ago. But I suppose I shouldn't say only because both of them really were very interesting to speak with. The woman, whose name I have unfortunately forgotten was originally from Williston North Dakota!! I became completely over-joyed upon hearing this. She told me that a lot of people had made fun of her accent. This comment was especially thrilling because my North Dakota dialect has been a choice topic of scrutiny among my fellow ASSE students. They say it's cute, but I am beginning to doubt my trust in their opinion. Besides the female Alumnae being of North Dakota origin there was another interesting aspect of our special guests. They were married. Very recently actually. They met through ASSE. (Now if that ain't adorable then I don't know what is.) He was 18 and she 16 during their exchange year. They started dating on the Weimar trip and then just kept it going.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb