Freilichtmuseum


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia
August 31st 2008
Published: August 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today guess what I did? A cultural excursion at an outside museum like the titile says. It was really nice. This museum is an outside village representing different jobs that were practised years ago. Like way back when.... Canada was just being discovered... Well not quite, their where representations of different jobs mostly in the 1800's-1700's. There houses where really cool I expected it to be like the villeage dans temps ou Upper Canada Villeage with houses and blacksmiths and farming and so on, but it really was focused only on the different jobs back then. I had a problem understanding everything or actually what went on because all the signs where only written in German so I couldn't read them. My host mom did the best job at triing to explain everything to me the best she could which was really nice. I still liked it alot because every building was old and smelt old too.

I was more interested in the arcitecture of the buildings then of the job representations. I would have wished that these houses would have been decorated with the artifacts of the time but that wasn't the case. I went there with my family
chairschairschairs

les 4 etapes pour fabriquer les chairs
and Holga's family too But Johanna didn't come. So it was just the little kids and all seemed really bored out of their minds. It wasn't for them they would have prefered going back to KIrmes in town but they where stuck there. We stopped for lunch at some resto their I ate what I would name a German version of the Hamburger. It was rye bread with mustured salami and salad I think and that was it. I was alright really typical of this region. Today in my beautiful town again like yesterday it was really nice and really warm. My host mom yesterday told me I should stay out in the sun. She probably was refering to my pale skin everybody is tanned here. But today I too got a little colour on my face staying out in the sun. Tonight I see lightning right now it's very pretty. It's not raining at the moment but will be soon probably.

I left many details out tonight because I guess I got distracted with the lightening outside my window now it's over. I bought a book for an euro about all the jobs that where there at the museum and what is going on all in english. I didn't look at it yet that's why I cannot say for sure what is taking place in the pictures. But I guess it was mostly different types of metalsmits. Leather goods, food, Wood, print and the types of things back in the 1800's as I said before

I'll go to bed now


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

machinemachine
machine

This is for making needles to sow with I found it neat
metal againmetal again
metal again

the opposite side of the tin
old signold sign
old sign

something about pots
The little housesThe little houses
The little houses

those are really cute and they are were different metals are carved
again again
again

my host sister in purple
cabinetcabinet
cabinet

I found it nice
tools tools
tools

look at all the tools these craftmen use. Andy You need more..
Happy familyHappy family
Happy family

All the kids tired
SittingSitting
Sitting

Holga, his wife and the kids
oven oven
oven

A big oven where they cold off the metal.
LOOK LOOK
LOOK

it's one of those cool things we see to cool down fire or metal I guess with ai. It#s really big
firemen firemen
firemen

there was a fireman exposition also. 112


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb