Day of the Three Kings


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Stockum
January 4th 2009
Published: January 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yep, I'm back in Stockum. =0) I arrived on the 31st and brought in the New Year here at home with a group of friends. It's great to be back in Stockum. It almost feels like I never left, except Johanna, Franzi and Maike, my little cousins have all changed so much. They've grown up since I've been gone. I've been spending my time seeing old friends. Many of them are home for the holidays from various parts of Germany where they're going to school. It's been 3 years since I've seen most of them! That's waaay too long. Naja... that's not why I'm writing today.

Today in Germany it's Der Tag Der Drei Königen (The Day of the Three Kings). In most of Germany the day is no longer observed, but today reminds me of the joys of living in a small town. Today, three boys dress up as the Three Kings, go around to the houses in the town and sing a song about the Three Kings and their journey to see the new baby Jesus. The song is sung in Plattdeutsch (Old German from this region). They receive candy from the houses that they'll later split amongs themselves. They also collect donations for kids in need around the world. This year they're collecting money for an organization in Mexico.

It's nothing super extraordinary, but just reminded me what I find so enchanting about little ol' Stockum. It's a close community that changes with the times, but also holds on to their traditions. It feels good to be home. =)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 20; qc: 72; dbt: 0.084s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb