Cross-Country Road trip has begun


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
June 1st 2009
Published: June 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

What a great way to start the road trip... with New York City! =) It was great to see friends! =) Saturday I met up with my old boss Linda and her family. Her family is so sweet and it was great eating yummy Arabic food when I got there =) That evening I stayed with a friend up in Manhattan and found myself relaxing on their rooftop enjoying the sunset and breeze while sipping on a glass of wine a couple blocks away from Central Park. It was so nice =)

The next day I headed down to Bay Ridge to visit AAANY for the 5th Avenue Street Fair. It was great seeing my old co-workers and other friends from AAANY. The street fair was enjoyable. AAANY had a DJ and a debke performance. It was fun to be back in the community. Made me definitely miss living in Brooklyn and working with the AAANY. I also went down the street and visited my old dance studio. I definitely miss dancing there. With all that activity in the morning/early afternoon, I was still quite excited when I went off to the airport to pick up Evy and Juli from JFK. =)

We spent our first evening down in Brooklyn. We ate at my favorite restaurant in NYC, Habana Outpost. If you haven't been there yet and are in NYC, it highly recommend it. It's in Brooklyn. I've only ever seen it crowded, this time it almost seemed like a block party. On Sunday evening, they show a movie outside.

We stayed up at a hostel on the Upper West Side. Today, we spent the day doing all the tourist things around the city. Was pretty fun. =) We had gorgeous weather, so walking around was really nice. We walked through Central Park, down 5th Avenue, went to Times Square, the Empire State Building, the Brooklyn Bridge, walked down along Battery Park and enjoyed dinner on the East Side. All in all, it was a great day =)

There was much more we'd have liked to have seen, but unfortunately our time is short and tomorrow morning we'll be headed out to DC. It's been a great beginning to the road trip and I look forward to the next stop =)


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0846s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb