First Day


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Düsseldorf
January 24th 2007
Published: January 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

MORGEN! (good morning) So, its our first official day in germany and it is the middle of the night for you. I definitely woke up in the middle of the night wide awake so I played sudoku for about an hour and then fell back asleep. I have the coolest room. Very modern. Our host mom has internet but her computer is sick right now so we are internet-less for the time being. It is a little colder here than I originally thought yesterday. The morning train ride proved that. haha. We had meats and cheeses for breakfast that were really good. I actually had sausage for breakfast (cept it was salami). lol. As for first impressions of Germany...VERY clean. I am not a big fan of table water (sparkling water) but I will probably have to get used to that. Today we are taking a city walking tour. Yes...walking. And in the cold. But I am sure that it will be amazing. All of the buildings are real tall and people are all bundled up in their nice outfits. I am going to have to get used to dressing up all the time haha. I will take some pictures of my room and everything as soon as I can and try to send them. I am having to learn to use a MAC computer so it might take a little longer than expected. We have one english channel on the tv. It is CNN so I will get caught up on the news back home. Oh yeah, it is 21 degrees here. Glad I brought a LOT of warm clothes. Cept they dont use clothes dryers here so our towels have been a little stiff and I am sure our clothes will be too. Well, other than the fact that they speak a completely different language here, it seems like a normal city other than not being used to hoping a few trains and the cold weather. I will write again soon and tell you about our city tour by foot. Im sure there will be a lot to tell. Love you all and miss you!!! Oh, and here is my address if yall get bored and want to send something Ü (thats a smiley face) I know it is the right address because I had something waiting at the breakfast table for me from Rachael. Thanks rach!!! Bye!

Heidi Schubert
c/o Chelsea Guthrie -Chels
Nixenstr. 65
40591 Dusseldorf
Germany

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb