Another German update.


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Lower Saxony » Hannover
August 14th 2006
Published: August 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

MapMapMap

A little map of Bielefeld. This is almost to life scale.
I have been bad about writing, because I was trying to wait until I had a lot of pictures. But now, so much time has passed, and I have photos, and I have so much to write I don't know where to begin!

So probably I will ramble a good deal in this entry, but I promise lots of photos.

We finished our session with Tage Larsen, of the Odin Teatret, yesterday evening around 5. With Tage we worked on a specific way of developing a performance which involves creating a set of actions, and knowing them in your sleep. Also, preparing a text which you could say in your sleep. The two should be unrelated. I mean that you should not think of your text when creating the actions nor should you choose a text based on a series of actions. Then, you layer the text onto the actions and see what happens. You dialate the actions- make them smaller or larger, faster or slower. You can also inform the way you say the text from the action. For example, I might use the action of opening and closing my hand, one finger at a time. This might
ApproachApproachApproach

Our initial approach to TheatreLabor. Little did we know. . .
make sense if I speak the text, searching for the words while I do this action.

Tage is a really normal guy. He has a family, and a life. I like that a great deal. He's funny and charming and very clear in his instruction. Wonderful. I like this process very much. I think Iwould like to see how I can use it in my work at home very soon.

Also we've been watching films and montages of some performances. The training film from the Odin with Rychard Cezyak (I just murdered that spelling) on what is called the plastics was really fascinating. I am trying to learn to stand on my head! We also watched several performances of TheaterLabor. One was an outdoor performance about the works of Jules Verne and following the development of film. At one point, Captain Nemo's Nautilus drove through the crowd. Really delightful. We watched another peice based on the paintings of Felix Nussbaum (again, murdering) which was not as entertaining but visually sort of interesting. Then we watched a piece based on the work of Francis Bacon. And all hell broke loose.

I should back up.

At the beginning
Dark cloudsDark cloudsDark clouds

It could not have looked more ominous. The weather has been brutal here.
of our work her at TL, Sigmar Schroeder, the artistic director of TL, proposed a work demonstration at the end of the sessions. People knew it would be happening prior to this, but we finalyl chatted about it. And Sigmar doesn't have the most clear way of communicating, nor does he give out the warmest energy. I could feel our group tense up, and people were really unhappy. Fighting, arguing ensued, but culminated after the viewing of the Francis Bacon film.

People were yelling at each other, yelling at Sigmar Schroeder, interrupting each other. It was really unpleasant and I was so embarrassed by the behaviour of my colleagues. Everyone was speaking about theatre as if it is black and white. Sigmar kept trying to say that everyone could be right, and how lucky that we can all have our own opinions, but no one was even listening to each other at that point. It was awful. Eventually Sigmar said very clearly 'If you want to participate, you can. If you don't, that's also fine. If you want to sing a song, do that, do a scene? Do that. This is for you. Or not. Either of which is
TL LobbyTL LobbyTL Lobby

We eat lunch here, drink tea, have meetings. This serves as their lobby for spectators.
ok.'

Frustrating.


Every group comes to this point of breakdown. Most groups go through it many times. I am hoping that in the next couple of days we can really get back on track with what we are here to do. Work and learn.

Some of these photos are of my friends, some of the spaces, some of the town. I'll try and and caption them well.

Park arrives in t- minus 8 days! Hooray. And then we'll be hanging out in Westphalia for a bit before we head home.

More later!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

TL Lobby 2TL Lobby 2
TL Lobby 2

They have a small stage in the lobby, sometimes we nap on it.
TL napTL nap
TL nap

Like I said. Sometimes we nap on the ministage. Here lies Jean François.
FingerFinger
Finger

Someone, who shall remain nameless, cut part of their finger off with an axe trying to chop wood in Brzezinka. Oh, we are very silly sometimes.
TL OutsideTL Outside
TL Outside

The view from above the rock climbing wall outside of TL. It's a lovely little complex that surrounds them.
TL outside 2TL outside 2
TL outside 2

Outside on the way back from the market.
Rock wallRock wall
Rock wall

Sometimes the German children playing on this yell at us. We probably look like crazy people, so I can understand.
The busThe bus
The bus

THis bus picked us up after the bus ride from hell. Now it sits by the theatre.
DuckDuck
Duck

In a shop window. I think this duck has chest hair. Forget the snorkling gear. . .
Rain gearRain gear
Rain gear

Walking in the rain to the market.
Rain gear 2Rain gear 2
Rain gear 2

With Laura and Rob.
Robs bdayRobs bday
Robs bday

There is Jean, Marta in the pink, the back pf Pinar's head and the side of Darko's.
Robs bday 2Robs bday 2
Robs bday 2

Rob's cake. We picked it out at the market.
Robs bday 3Robs bday 3
Robs bday 3

Rob taking a good, deep, Zygmunt Molik breath in before blowing out his candle.
Robs bday 4Robs bday 4
Robs bday 4

Me and Pinar, one of my two awesome room mates!
Robs bday 5Robs bday 5
Robs bday 5

Kinder tried so hard to make new friends.
Robs bday 6Robs bday 6
Robs bday 6

And she was the life of the party! (Kinder with Pinar and Justyna)
Robs bday 7Robs bday 7
Robs bday 7

Sometimes you must cut cake with a Swiss Army knife. . .
Robs bday 7Robs bday 7
Robs bday 7

Alex, Fabiana, Justyna, Darko and in the front, my other room mate, Nais!


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb