Finally...football weather


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse
October 12th 2008
Published: October 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The climb was interminable. Panting, all I focused on was trying to keep a steady, rhythmic pedaling motion. I had shifted down to the lowest gear a couple of minutes earlier so there was no finding any additional assistance from the bike. It had been 2 weeks since I had any type of strenuous exercise. Even so, I would not have been prepared for these hills as the terrain here is unlike any that can be found in Dallas.

Finally, the end of this climb. We moved off the trail to the side of the hill where the forest clears and one can look across the landscape. The air is crisp, sky heavy. A typical mid-autumn day. As far as you can see, trees in the various shades of yellow, red, brown and green. Its as if a large patchwork quilt has been laid on the countyside. “This is why we decided to live away from the city when we moved over here.” Steve remarked. I would have made the same decision.

We were half-way to our ultimate destination this Sunday afternoon - a remote biergarten. That’s right - greetings from Germany!

After 10 days in India, I decided that since it had been so long since I’ve experienced a real autumn season and since I have no current restraints that I would take a brief respite from traveling around the India subcontinent to visit friends in Germany. I’ll be in Germany until Wednesday when I will take a train to Amsterdam for a few days. From there, the plan is to hit Bruges and Brussels in Belgium before flying to Mumbai on October 21. Mumbai will be a good place to launch my southern invasion of India.

Now if only it were possible to watch some football…



Advertisement



14th October 2008

So fun! I'm ashamed to say my experience with changing seasons is limited. I've always wanted to see the fall colors in New England, but Germany . . . even better!
16th October 2008

World travelin'
Excellent jag over to Germany! Is that Reynolds? Tell him hello. Keep livin' the dream. The pics are most excellent.
17th October 2008

Couldn't stay away...
Fantastic that you could jaunt over to Germany and enjoy a biergarten. I know how you love it there. The best we'll do here is the Haufbrau House in Vegas! I'll bet your core body temperature is finally dropping. Safe travels!
21st October 2008

Good Trip
Looks like you are truly enjoying yourself keep safe

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb