German Jamboree!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt
July 6th 2007
Published: July 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Forget those no-good Nazis; the Germans are a friendly, fun-lovin´bunch. On the train to Frankfurt today, we sat amidst a group of 30-something women celebrating their friend´s bachlorette with champagne in plastic glasses - there´s no place you can´t have a good time here in Deutschland. Here, the meals are big, the scenery is stunning, the men are tall, and best of all - almost everyone seems to speak good english!
It rained a lot in Munich, but we went to see Pirates 3 in a cramped little theater; the movie was even sillier and more overdone than the second, yet it was still a refreshing piece of home. In Fussen we saw the fairy-tale castle Neuschwanstein; it has my favorite interior of any historical place I´ve visited so far - I know where I´m going when I move out. Then we travelled to Rothenburg, a wonderful walled medieval town overlooking a lush, forested valley. It mostly rained, and our one umbrella finally breathed its last, but today the sun finally remembered it´s supposed to be summer. Frankfurt is an overnight stop before we continue on to Bacharach, where we´re staying in a real live castle-turned-hostel, then possibly Berlin before we hit the Netherlands. Then it´s back to calm little England, and then... home.

Advertisement



7th July 2007

the half german inside of me and you :)
hey lovely lady, tall men you say? hmmm sounds like I need to make a visit. (just kidding, oh and graham and I are still going strong! haha) today I am exhausted. I started work at 7:30.. loading boxes onto boats and trucks (food for the next camp) i then went straight to the canteen to please the needs of 152 people. I inventoried everything and restocked the goodies. Counting a few thousand dollars and giving the kids back their leftover baggies of money made me realize why kids get cavities. 11 hours of straight working (i ate my lunch in the canteen too) is the reason for this exhaustion. So there you go Liz, that is not what you are missing! I love to read your blog and I think that when you get home you should find oodles of adventures to write about (perhaps some adventures with your fave cousin) I am already looking forward to the family reunion in August will be the highlight of my year I'm sure!!! well i think i need to walk or swim or sit or something other than counting and being around gluttenous children. I am sorry this isn't the most jolly post but I needed someone to vent to and you are such a great listener. :) laura

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb