"The Hills Are..." well, you know.


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Salzburg » Salzburg
July 1st 2007
Published: July 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

It's nice to feel safe again, to not always be watching my back, to not be frightened by friendliness. It's nice to walk through parks as refreshingly green as a drink from a well, to not go to bed and wake up sweating. Here in Salzburg, home of Mozart and Fraulein Maria, the sound of music really is everywhere. Last night a wedding across from our campground kept us awake; I decided not to be too angry (even though a crazy angry Italian man kept me awake the night before in Venice) because I did get to dance to the yodelling in the parking lot outside the beerhall earlier.
"The Sound of Music" is a family favorite (well, maybe just the girls' - I'm a sucker for musicals), and Salzburg is our only stop in Austria, since our Greek island time stretched out a little longer than we meant it to. I have no problem getting into the spirit; I've sung "I Have Confidence" on the bus, "How do you Solve a Problem Like Maria" at the abbey, "Do Re Mi" skipping around the Pegasus fountain, and "The Sound of Music" everywhere else. The city is surprisingly untouristy; no one has tried to sell me a fake Prada bag or Gucci belt - not even a nun's habit - which is a nice change. Eastern Europe was always more Alice's dream than mine, but Germany is exciting me more and more, especially as I realize I won't have to be clutching my bag tightly all the time and constantly evading strange mens' stares (how DO they know we're not locals?).
As for you, my friends, my homesickness is growing stronger each day. When I have too much time on my hands (because I've read all five books and have no more) I start thinking of home; by night the longing is so sharp I can almost taste it. We frequently play "I'm Looking Forward to...", listing our most anticipated comforts of home. I took a lot of things for granted - knowing where I'm going to sleep, being able to eat filling, healthy meals (we've been consuming way too much Nutella lately), and not smelling like I just rolled out of a blue cheese factory. Ah, for the days when I'll be able to ask for directions and understand the answer. Then I remember that of course when I get home I'll think I was crazy to want to go back to my nine-to-five life, so I strengthen my resolve to keep up the sensory overload 'til my very last day on the other side of the world.

Wish You Were Here

Your face is the badge on my backpack
Thoughts of you are my main souvenir
Your voice is the sound of my silence -
With each breath, I breathe,
"Wish you were here."

Advertisement



5th July 2007

so do i
liz, updated myself on your adventures this morning, sounds like a life changing experience. I do wish I was there, and hope that someday we'll be able to travel through europe again. when do you return? Looking forward to seeing your pictures and trophies. Love from Calvin, Ceri, Annabelle and Luke.

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0856s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb