Thoughts From Above


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt
January 3rd 2007
Published: January 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

The soft lights from the corners of the plane seep softly into my vision and I awake to the quiet rustlings of attendants preparing breakfast while others sit quietly letting the rest of us move about dreamland. Consumed by a dark tunnel, the sun has yet to bare its face to this side of the ocean as the pilot pushes full speed ahead to keep up with the schedule. It has been a comfortable night, my mind is still foggy but I have had time to rest enough to make sense of my surroundings, although thoughts of reading have long been given up over to the exhaustion of hopping planes and time zones.
It was by pure accident I ended up in this section of the plane, a smile from an attendee on the east coast as he handed me the upgrade must have been a gift from god. I giggled at the ridiculousness of it all as I sat eating a four-course meal paired with a small glass of red zinfandel. The wine tickled my tongue as I let the last drop fall from the glass and then reclined back for bed. This could all be a very dangerous way to start out my travels, making my expectations a bit higher…making me consider bumping up my ticket on my flight home in May. Business Class…who would have known?
Thoughts of my loved ones circle round in my mind as I have come to accept the never ending butterfly garden that has planted itself inside my stomach, but the fear has been replaced by a calm, yet, building excitement. My new city is mere six hours, one plane hop, and a train ride away, and oh, how I long to hear the speaker say "Bienvenido a España."

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb