Back to USA


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt
April 8th 2012
Published: April 17th 2018
Edit Blog Post

We awoke at 5am, got ready, and checked out of the Mercure. It was Easter morning and we were pleasantly surprised to find 3 large chocolate bunnies outside our room when we left. All down the halls of the hotel you could see different amounts of chocolate bunnies outside rooms, depending on the number of guests. How cool that the Mercure "Easter Bunny" visited us and was so kind to leave chocolates!

We took the shuttle at 6:30am to FRA airport and checked in for our flight. We went to the gate and waited, while having some breakfast snacks. At 9:40am, we were on board Delta flight 143, a 767-400 aircraft to Detroit. Once in the air a lunch was served. I had the rigatoni pasta, which was ok.

The appetizers of Thai curry shrimp and carrot ginger soup were great though! For dessert, I had an ice cream sundae again. I washed it all down with many gin and tonics. After my meal, I watched some of "Gran Torino", but I had seen it many times so I turned it off and put on my ipod. I fell asleep, listening to a shuffle of music.

I woke up about 2 hours before arrival into Detroit and they served a light snack. I had a salad with chicken and goat cheese. It was pretty good! I looked out the window and instantly recognized Niagara Falls! Had to snap a photo of that for sure! They announced that we would have strong turbulence for the last 45 minutes of the flight but it ended up not being bad at all.

We arrived into Detroit an hour early due to a good tailwind that we had most of the flight. It is a good thing too because it allowed us to catch an earlier connection to get back to Indianapolis. If we had not arrived early, we may have been spending the night in Detroit because the rest of the Indy flights that day looked bad for stand-by travel.

After landing, we cleared customs and immigration within 20 minutes and ran to see if we could get the earlier connection. When we got to the gate, we had about 15 minutes to spare and the agent told us we should be able to make it on. We were in luck because she called us up and gave us our seats. It was Delta flight 852 and I was in coach seat 12E on the MD-90 aircraft. It was a smooth 40 minute flight back to Indianapolis.

We really enjoyed Budapest and I would love to go back!

Thank you for reading!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb