Hamburg 2


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
September 30th 2015
Published: September 30th 2015
Edit Blog Post

HamburgHamburgHamburg

Lyn - ready for action
Saturday 26/09/15

Down to the supermarket for some breakfast goodies. The day clear and sunny. Lyn had an all day seminar, meet prospective students, thing to attend. We walked to Mundsberg station to get the U Bahn to Lubecker, changed trains there and arrived at Stefansplatz station 20 minutes later. From there a short walk to 5 Rothenbaumschausee where the event was to be held. There were other teachers there from NZ - Thames, P. North, Nelson etc. I helped her set up then left on my mission to find a bike hire place.

An hour and a half later, and after four different bits of direction advice from good German citizens, of still NOT finding a bike hire establishment I gave in and hired, gasp, an electric bike, which place I was able to find. Talk about swallow my pride. Anyway, the cost was very reasonable, the bike looked rather cool and I was desperate to get out amongst the crowds of Hamburgians pedalling with grim purpose around the cycle ways. They were going for it; speed, no quarter given to pedestrians or cars - I was a bit apprehensive. But off we go. It was a sunny
HamburgHamburgHamburg

Street entertainment
day, no wind, dedicated cycle ways - what more could any cyclist want? Well, for a start, some exercise. None of that. I think my heart rate got up a maximum of 5 beats a minute during the entire time. No hills, no wind and an electric motor which seemed to cut in when I reached about 5k's an hour. I could see the benefits of it but for me, wanting to work up a sweat, not much benefit. The upside was that I saw, and could appreciate the scenery around me as I swept majestically down the lanes serenely and sweat free.

Stopped for an eis, a coffee, some photo ops but not quite what I was after. An interesting experience nevertheless and I could see that when I can longer pedal up Miro Miro Road to home without feeling twinges from my chest region then an electric bike will be the go. But not quite yet. Meanwhile Lyn had been promoting up a storm at the Fair and we met up at a local bar/eatery overlooking the Binnen Alster, a very pretty sea "lake" that laps the shores of Hamburg city. We relaxed for an hour before
HamburgHamburgHamburg

Bike ride - Alster scenery
the U Bahn back to Mundsberg, a nice Japanese meal there and then packing before an earlyish start in the morning. Heading for Amsterdam for three days of holiday (for Lyn - I'm on constant holiday).


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

HamburgHamburg
Hamburg

Bike ride - sharing the road
HamburgHamburg
Hamburg

My trusty E bike
HamburgHamburg
Hamburg

Station series


Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb