5 days til Sept. 1


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
August 27th 2008
Published: August 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

There's never much to do in the mornings during the week because all of my friends work & whatnot... So I stayed in bed a long time.... til like 10 AM even though I slept good... Then I went to the computer lab around 11 AM and I got to talk to my mom on the internet! =) I also looked up the way to get to Gerd's house with the bus. Then I went running around the Alster again... I don't think I can run around the whole thing because I found an end to the path I was running on. Well it didn't really end but it looked like it went onto some street and I was afraid I would get lost. Next time... if there is a next time (because maybe I'll try going jogging somewhere else) I will try jogging in the other direction. After I showered and stuff then it was time to leave to go meet Sabine. So we had Bubble Tea, it was different than in America, there weren't different flavors, only one. But it was still good. Then we had some Eis, I had a mango flavored Eis with cherry sauce and chocolate chips and it was yummy. Then we went walking in the "Planten un Blomen" park. Planten un Blomen is low german which is what the older Germans sometimes speak, Sabine told me. It was very pretty there, there was a small pond, and also a bigger one with fountains, and many many flowers. I also saw my first german squirrel (Eichhörnchen)! They are brown/red here, not gray. It's too bad I didn't have my camera with me... I should carry it around more often. Maybe I'll go jogging in the Planten un Blomen park next time. Jogging around the alster is getting a little boring because I have done it so many times... today was the fourth time!!!! The only way for jogging to be fun is if it's a little different, which is why I enjoyed it so much the first day I did it. (And also why I enjoyed my midnight jog the day before my flight). Jogging would also be more fun if I had some new music to listen to. After walking in the park, we had Döners for dinner. It was my first Döner. It's a type of Turkish fast food, its chicken and salad in bread with sauce too and they shave the chicken off these thingies. Sabine told me that Turkish pizza is also good, I will have to try that sometime soon... maybe tomorrow for lunch. Sabine also showed me some of the linguistics that she's studying, and then she had to go home to work on her term paper. I got back around 19:30 so I decided to call Gerd about going to the Heidel on Sonday... oops I spelled that like German hahahah. And we're going to do it if it's good weather and I'm supposed to call him again on Saturday (haha what if i said samsday???) to figure out if it's going to be good weather. Then I called Mohamed, and soon we're gonna meet and he's gonna show me how to use the wireless at the HAW. Then maybe I can finally upload some pics to facebook! And more people will be online because it's later... but sadly the computer lab isn't open this late. Hmm... so what other random things. I learned that in Hamburg one doesn't say Semmel, which was the word I learned, but instead Sandwich, from English! Tja... so now I wait for Mohamed to call back, go figure out the internet and blah blah blah, and I can put this blog entry up if it works! And that was my day. I can't wait til September 1 though, I won't be so alone all the time. I hate being alone... If I had known I would feel this way I wouldn't have wanted to go so early, instead I woulda followed my dad's advice to leave 2 weeks before I should be there so that he and Cindy would be with me til I moved in... but I guess it was meant to be this way because I probably would've never met some of the people that I met and I might not have experienced the Holy Spirit as strong as I did... and I wouldn't have had so many chances to practice my deutsch... and all that. It's a part of God's plan, and I'm not really alone, because He is always here with me, I need to remember that!

Well I didn't put this up when I went there, so I'll write a little more. Mohamed got a program from his friend for me to install that let me connect to the internet, but the internet didn't work for very long... but maybe I can go on Skype tomorrow... hmmm.... Then after that he showed me the mensa where I can eat for about 2 Euros! I wish I had known that sooner!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb