Weekend Pics


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
July 6th 2008
Published: July 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I spent the majority of the weekend in the downtown area as all of our kids are out and about with their host families. On Saturday, I made my way via S-Bahn to the city center. I spent the day scouting points for our "Amazing Race" and viewing the sights. It was a very warm day, and I spent a lot of time on foot in between stints public transportation, which is EXCELLENT here in Hamburg. I made my way by train, on the tube, by bus and by water taxi, which is all covered on one 5 Euro ticket!

Today my host family took me to the German Emigration museum. It was very cool to see "the other side" of American immigrants. People came from all over Europe to Hamburg for various reasons. Here they lived in a city all its own before departing for the new world.

After that, we went into the city and had lunch at a waterfront cafe before taking a water taxi through the port, past the largest floating dry dock in the world, back to Veddel Island. From here we caught the train back to Harburg. This evening, we will go to a festival nearby to see who will be the new "King of the Hunters." I'll try to get some pics posted of that tomorrow.

I'll post more tomorrow on what out kids did this weekend with their host familiies. Monday we are at school. Tuesday we head to Bergerdorf to see the castle and church. Wednesday is school and Thursday we canoe on the Alster. It looks as though the big race will be on Friday. On Friday evening, I will leave the group late and head to Bremen to spend the night in the airport before flying out for Malta.

Enjoy the pics, and check back for more tomorrow!

-Ben


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



21st July 2008

The Ferries
We totally found one of those signs! it took us forever!!!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 9; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb