The acceptance of nudity


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin
February 10th 2015
Published: February 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Hey Humanoids,

So I have been to a couple places in the last couple weeks which require nudity.
As an Aussie nudity is not frowned upon but it is weird for me to be naked around other people that I don't know.
Anyway my girlfriend and I made a day trip to Tropical Island for her birthday the other week.
Here's me thinking like "normal" girls and boys change room everyone huddled in a corner with their towels wrapped around their naked bodies being sure not to show anything off..... I could not have been anymore wrong.

The thing with germans I have come to realise is that they love to be naked. The second the sun is out they are in the park playing naked frisbee or just basking in its warm glow. It Doesn't matter who you are, what shape you are, gender or age. If you want to get naked by all means go for it.
Coming back to the Tropical Island dressing rooms.
We walked in and what you get is a massive hall filled with lockers all of which are numbered. Attached to your arm is a watch type thing with a number inscribed on it.
The game walk the hall find your locker. What nobody tells you is that you also have to dodge the naked people while trying to find said locker. As you wander through the hall looking up and down at the numbers flying pass, I say flying past because at this point I'm surrounded by people with everything hanging out like it's nobodies business and I am basically running through the hall to find this freaking locker. All the while trying to avoid the occasional family post shower drying session or the couple having a chat about their Facebook feed. Shit side step grandma and granddad as they drop the towels to change.
Finally found it, I know what your thinking safe... No wrong it gets weird here. Now I must change still being freaked out by the ordeal I went and found a change room. (Yes they do think about poor little scared guys like me). Ok so that was done we went and had some fun for the day. The day was done we were all tired and 3 beers deep. Having forgotten about the locker hall and its public nudity show. I went to take a quick shower as you do after a day in the pool.
walking into the male toilets (communal change rooms, separate toilets and showers?) I quickly came across my next challenge in my introduction to this strange thing that is german bathing culture. The showers where also communal (just blokes though) So I pick the closest shower and hope under still clothed. The only clothed person in the whole room at this point I cant help but notice everybody in that shower block looking at ME. Jesus man I have never felt so ashamed to be clothed. what is one to do? I stripped off and bared all to the public, and you know what it felt strangely normal. So much so I finished up the shower wrapped my towel around myself and STRUTTED back to my locker pants in hand to tackle the open air changing arena.





My next exposure to the german public came in the form of a trip to the Liquidrom.
My girlfriend was given two four hour gift certificates to this spa (Liquidrom). Very nice place, modern fancy looking place with pools and saunas.
Yeah ok I can do this go in relax in a pool that resides in a darkened room that has speakers under the water so when you float you can still hear the music, sounds great.
They even had separate change rooms, that I later found out where open in the middle so you can still see everyone and everything.
I managed the change rooms with more ease this time. I figure head down eyes forward and go is the best way to do it.

Now where is this dark pool Im ready to relax in music water. It's on the other side of the building through the maze of naked sauna goes and lazying unclothed bodies on sun beds. OH GEEEZUUUS!! another awkward walk through as the Missus and I discuss tactics on how to get through with out being noticed. The thing about naked people they can sense when clothing is in their space. so the second we hit the room again all eyes on the clothed people. SHIT just walk real quick make it look like you know what your doing. Safely in the music pool, we soak for an hour before getting up the courage to go to the bar.
Down a 0.5l Berliner Pilsner and some water and wonder over to investigate the sauna. This requires me to sit in a room with X amount of sweaty people... Naked.
After some pacing and pondering I accept the challenge and go for it. stripping down to my glory and assuming my position in the darkened heater room.

The Missus chose to do a Kaffee face mask treatment so I went along with it. We were sat in the heater room and man came in waved a towel around made it smell nice and shut the door now I am naked and shut in the heater room with X amount of sweaty nude bodies and towel guy. 6 minutes of towel waving and water on the stones along with trying not to look around for fear of getting in trouble. Then came the Kaffee (coffee) mask. Everybody out of the heater room, here put this coffee ground mixed with unknown substance XYZ on your face and body. OKAY! so know I am sweaty covered in coffee XYZ and naked but so is everybody else this is just too funny. I was having so much fun probably more out of personal embarrassment then enjoyment but the hell.
Towel guy had taken off while we were all standing around smearing XYZ coffee on our bodies. He returns with a tray of TEA!. My mind now is flipping out WTF is going here? I am surrounded by nude, sweaty, tea drinking, XYZ coffee smeared people, where do I look? what do I do? don't look down there is about 5 odd penises to look forward boob staring accusations will ensue. Dear God if I look at the roof its too obvious. I went for the old chat with the Missus thank someone she was there. Really one the most interesting things I have done.

In closing I feel confident after the coffee exposure I am ready to take on the park when summer comes and show these guys how to play naked frisbee.





Till next time humanoids.
Happy travels

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb