Germany part 3


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin
July 10th 2011
Published: July 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After going to the Czech Republic, I went back through Germany on my way back west through Europe.

One of the main highlights of this stint in Germany was going to the US women's world cup match against Columbia in Heidelberg. Tickets were sold out when we were looking to buy them, so we had to go through this shady German third party website to get the tickets. To physically pick up the tickets, I had to pay online with my credit card and then call this guy when I got to the stadium who met me outside of the ticket office. Our seat numbers were written on the ticket with a pen, and as skeptical as we were about these tickets actually working, they ended up getting us into the stadium. It turned out that the tickets we bought were in the second row right behind one of the corners. They were incredible seats. The game was really exciting too, and the US won.

After staying the night in Heidelberg, I went back to Berlin for two more nights. I'm glad I went back because there were some sites that I didn't see my first time there that I got to see. There was a free walking tour that I took that was incredibly informative and worthwhile. Some of the sites we walked by were the Brandenberg gate, Reichsteig (German parliament building), Holocaust memorial, the Berlin wall, Checkpoint Charlie, and museum island. It was the 4th of July, so our tour guide made sure to point out the U.S. Embassy to us, which is apparently bomb proof and one of the most armored embassies in the world.

On the 5th, I took a flight from Berlin to Sevilla, Spain for the ultimate leg of my trip.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb