Berlin, Day 1


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
December 24th 2014
Published: December 25th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I woke up around 11 am, and Adam was still asleep. I had no idea that check out was at noon that day, and we got a call at 12:04 pm from the reception desk, kindly asking us to hurry up because they were expecting other guests later that day. We frantically packed everything we had and hurried down to the desk, because we weren't about to get fined for something like a late check out that's for sure.

On the way to the central station, Adam realized that his backpack was missing, which contained his passport, computer, and all of his euros.... It's been awhile since I've seen him panic like this, but it was completely understandable because he had so many important things in that backpack. We hurried back to the hotel, praying that it would somehow still be in the luggage closet, and it was..... What a relief!! It served as a reminder that we should always be aware of where are belongings are at all times. I'm going to remind him to get a photocopy of his passport when we get to Berlin, because it's essential to have in case you lose your original document.

The trip over on EasyJet was quick (45 minutes or so ) and merry, and I say merry because the crew on board did their best to put us in the holiday spirit by singing a couple of Christmas songs when we landed.. It is Christmas Eve after all. Hearing those songs only reminded me of my family and how much I miss them and want to be with them during this special time of the year, but I knew that there would be exciting things to do in Berlin with Adam. We took a taxi to our hotel to avoid the headache of trying to figure out our way through public transportation methods, which would probably have been slow and inefficient because it was a national holiday. It wasn't too long before we arrived to our room, and Adam crashed as soon as we got there. I had looked up Christmas Eve masses beforehand, and I luckily came across a 10 pm offering at St. Hedwig's Cathedral, which was only about a mile away from our hotel. I showered and dressed up for the occasion, offering Adam to come with me, but he was too tired to go.

I got there at 9:15 pm so that I could catch the caroling performance at 9:30....The place was completely packed, but it was so worth it. I was standing the entire time, through the caroling and the service, but it was a very special and rare opportunity for me to reflect on my experiences far and give thanks for all that I have been blessed with this year. Although the mass was delivered in German by the archbishop of Berlin, I could feel the underlying theme of Christmas shining through the foreign dialect, which was a message of peace and joy. It's been awhile since I last attended mass, so it was refreshing to come back and immerse myself back in my faith.

Feeling the holiday spirit after the mass, I stopped by a coffee shop (not like the ones in Amsterdam) that was still open on the way back to the hotel and picked up two sandwiches and two heinekens to celebrate with Adam. On the block which turned into the street where the Winters hotel is located, a man dressed in all black came up to me abruptly and started speaking to me in German... I was scared when he started to approach me, but the tone of his voice wasn't menacing. I kept walking and told him that I didn't speak German, and a sudden look of disappointment washed over his face... He brightened up however, and reassuringly gave me a "Merry Christmas" in English with an outstretched hand. I couldn't believe it... I shook his hand and said Merry Christmas as well, and we both went on our own separate ways. I was fighting back the tears before arriving to the swinging doors, stopping for a moment to try and figure out what the hell had just happened. It's amazing how powerful a small sentiment such as this could be.

I got back and luckily Adam was feeling rested from his nap.. We shared the food that I had brought and had our own little Christmas by drinking Heineken and watching the news for awhile. We went downstairs to try and buy some more food, and the hotel concierge called the only restaurant that was still operating at midnight on early Christmas morning. Adam and I got to talking with him for awhile, he was a really nice guy from Turkey who was Muslim and had no problem working through Christmas. He brought us chocolate and water while we watched funny youtube videos on the couches, waiting for the food to arrive. We didn't end up going to bed until 6 am..... but at least I had a great Christmas with Adam, and I retrieved the holiday spirit that I once had as a child when that stranger stopped me and said Merry Christmas.....

Advertisement



25th December 2014

Amsterdam and Berlin
Merry Christmas Edwin and Adam you are missed but sounds like you're having a great time. Keep the blogs coming I feel like I am on the trip with you

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb