Currywurst is the Best!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
February 25th 2010
Published: February 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today was my first full day in Berlin, so I decided to do some exploring.

First I headed to Alexanderplatz which was a short U-Bahn ride away. I walked around and did some shopping. Found some birthday presents for some siblings who's birthday is coming up or it's today...oops :O! While walking I stumbled upon two guys who performed the song about poop and thez even had a sign. I found it pretty amusing.

After, I headed to Unter Den Lindon which is a boulervard with all the posh hotels, cafes and souvenir shops and some attractions. I also saw the Brandenburg Gate which was built in the 18th century as one of Berlin's city gates. The Berlin Wall used to run along in front of it and became a symbol of divided Berlin .and the Cold War. It was truly mangnificent to see.

After that I did some souvenir shopping when I realized I became hungry so I stopped off at a cafe and had a very famous Berliner delicousy...currywurst. For those of you who don't know what that is, it's basically a fried sausage smothered in a currylike sauce, (ketchup and curry powder). Sometimes it can be served with fries, which is what I got. When I took my first bite I thought it was the best thing I ever tasted.

Then I went to Berlin Central Station and did some more shopping. I then sat down to a nice cup of coffee and did some writing. Then I started to fall asleep right there and then and also did until some guy apporched me asking me for money in German. I told him "Nein Sprecken Deutsche!" and he went away.

Even in foreign countries people ask you for money.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb