Adjusting


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Rothenburg ob der Tauber
August 22nd 2008
Published: August 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

My hotel in KronbergMy hotel in KronbergMy hotel in Kronberg

This is the hotel that I stayed in with Pieter (shown being a doofus) in Kronberg when I flew in from Frankfurt. It is owned by the royal family and they are often seen walking around!
Well, I've been here about 10 days now. The culture shock here has been different in a few ways from Australia and my Euro trip last year. In Australia, I hadn't expected any so I was sent reeling for a little bit, and throughout my 5 month endeavor there, things would still blow my mind. Example... last week I was there I tried to get some film develop and it was like 20 bucks! Euro trip was different still because even though I was going to all these new cultures, I wasn't really -experiencing- them the way you do if you live in a country. And, even though a lot of my trip I was alone, it didn't really feel that way because I was meeting up with fellow travellers and making new friends.

But here I am in Rothenburg. A gorgeous town on the Romantic Road, smack dab in Bavaria, in a town visited by millions of tourists a year. But why do I feel all alone, surrounded by all these people? Simple, because I am not one of the travelling masses, observing, photographing and moving on to sights unseen. I'm here with the locals, but the locals don't
RosengartenRosengartenRosengarten

Rose Garden at the Schloßhotel in Kronberg. The walkway tothe far right is covered in grape vines!
know that I'm now a local. And I'm not the type of girl (yet, perhaps desperation will lead me...) to go to a bar by myself to make friends. So I find myself in a viscious conundrum. I have no friends... so I have no friends to go with me to make new friends. I think that I might ask Pieter and/or Nicole (the people at the hotel closest to my age, but they are a bit older than me) to go with me to a local spot soon so maybe I can meet some people. The problem is that the hotel is perfectly situated for the tourists.... so locals don't come over here :s. And it's also very quite in the hotel during the week, so I mostly spend my time watching the Olympics in German (But I can only really understand numbers), practicing my German and doing my homework, and reading little kid books in German. I took out Harry Potter from the library, but it's haaaaard to read. I never thought that I would see the day that I would think that Harry Potter would be a difficult book to read!

German travel is throwing me
Germany's Next Top Model?Germany's Next Top Model?Germany's Next Top Model?

I was trying to explain something to Pieter and he accidently took this pic, but it kiiiiinda looks like a pic that Tyra Banks has on her show, haha. Funny anyway!
for a loop too. I was wanting to visit Ireland to re-buy a beautiful claddagh ring that I bought there last year but lost in Vegas in Feb (boo) and see my friend David (The Spaniard I met in Oz, that I saw again in Scotland). I found a ticket, roundtrip, for €10!!! That's like 18 bucks! But the train to get me TO the airport is like €85! What giiiiiiiiives!? I dunno, I was thinking about going to the train station today to talk about options. I was thinking of buying a Bahn card which apparently gives me discounts, but I want to see if it's worth it...hopefully someone speaks good English there. Or I wish Rothenburg was closer to a major airport, but I guess that's the price you pay for Bavarian Charm.

As some of you may know, I was crazy excited about going to Oktoberfest, but I realized yesterday that I didn't have anyone to go with! So after asking alll my Euro friends, none can come with me! I'm certainly not going to go by myself 😞 Which totally blows, because when am I going to have the chance or desire to do this
Stopping to Smell the RosesStopping to Smell the RosesStopping to Smell the Roses

Well see, what's happening here, is...it's me... and I'm stopping. To smell the roses!
again? I'm not going to want to go hang around a bunch of smashed 20-30 years olds when I'm 50!!

Buuuut, here are some pretty pics from my new town that I'm still adjusting too...

I miss you guys at home 😞

Oh, and anyone want to go Skiing, go to Thailand or go to Egypt in jan and Feb?


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Pieter's a NutPieter's a Nut
Pieter's a Nut

This boy put anything edible he could in his mouth on our walk!
Spider-Carly!Spider-Carly!
Spider-Carly!

SpiderCarly, SpiderCarly doing things only a SpiderCarly can!
Western GateWestern Gate
Western Gate

This gate keeps the baddies out, and marks the entrance to my new town!
Goldener HirschGoldener Hirsch
Goldener Hirsch

The Golden Stag. I live here.
HitchhikersHitchhikers
Hitchhikers

These are the hitchhikers I told you that we picked up in the last post. How cute are they?


25th August 2008

Ich liebe dich!
Hi, Honey~ Love your posts! You are so beautiful, I can't believe you're not besieged with friends! You are totally going to have at least one friend by Oktoberfest! Smart move to go to the library, but yeah, you're gonna need to stay late if you wanna read Harry Potter auf deutsch! Better stick with One Fish, Two Fish for now! I love Spidercarly!
28th August 2008

Love the profile pic, those are my bed covers! haha. Did you lose the same ring you lost and I found in the arcade in Georgia? What awful luck you have with jewelry! This looks like a fun blog, I look forward to keeping up with you!
28th August 2008

umm
So maybe I'm out of the loop. Why are you in Germany? How long will you be there? *hugs* I have a friend in Austria... Maybe I should give you contact info or something? I also have a great book on German culture and such. Ordered from Amazon. Want the title?
30th August 2008

Great Bloggenhauffen
Love your Blog! Your town is so cute and the hotel is gorgeous, just like you. Wish I could come see you too. Love you!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb