Moving to Germany!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Rothenburg ob der Tauber
August 17th 2008
Published: August 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well hello! After an extensive gap, I'm back to relate more of my travels!

Here's an update! After I finished Uni in Australia, I came back and graduated from my beautiful Maryville College (which I heartily miss!). As a graduation present to myself, I took myself over to Europe for a little over a month! I saw Scotland, England, Ireland, Wales, France, Luxembourg, Germany, Denmark, Belgium and the Netherlands. It was wonderful! Top two cities were probably Scotland and Berlin for beauty and history and the good times I had there. After a year of internships and working hard I was offered a job at the beautiful Goldener Hirsch hotel in Rothenburg ob der Tauber in the Tauber Valley of the Castle District of Bavaria in Germany by a friend I met while studying in Australia. Which just goes to show how important networking and keeping in touch is!

So here it is. Day 3. The first day saw me arranging the lounge and getting everything set up. Last night was the second night we were open and at one point I had over 25 people in there all clamoring for drinks! But I was equal to the task and shook and built some lovely cocktails for the people. Ask, and ye shall receive all right.

During the day, I've been helping with light housekeeping and I've wandered the streets a little bit. Pieter says that I'll end up being a bit famous as he has since the town sees so many tourists, they really embrace the people that choose to stay. Should be nice. I hope I make some friends outside of Pieter and Nicole (My friend from Uni and his ladyfriend, they are in charge here) because tonight I have a night off and nothing to do and no one to do it with! I might wander the town and then catch a movie, but I still hate going to movies by myself, but it might be good for me. I'll see how the mood strikes me.

The town is surrounded by a wall and has these GORGEOUS gates. I'll have to add pics once I'm on the other computer, this one doesn't like my camera.

Well this was just a quick update to let everyone know that I'm alive, but I will be adding pictures and more detailed accounts of this lovely little town I've found myself in just to let ýou know the level of jealousy you should have for yourself and how happy for me you should be 😉 Ooh! I almost forgot! And I start German lessons on Monday with a tutor! That will make it much easier than learning by book! I'm only speaking German when I come home, so you guys should brush up on it as well, hee hee.

I'm going to go make the best of my day off and you should make the best of whatever day you've been dealt!

Auf Wiedershen!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb