My German Christmas - Day 2 Rothenburg


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Rothenburg ob der Tauber
December 22nd 2007
Published: January 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After catching a glimpse of a typical Christmas market in Frankfurt on the first day (refer to my previous post), we started our 2nd day by going to Rothenburg ob der Tauber, a beautiful medieval town along the Romantic Road. Actually this was my 2nd visit to Rothenburg. I went to Rothenburg in May 2007, and I fell in love with the town. Rothenburg pleased me so much that I decided to come again in the winter, and this time I brought my friends along.

Like my previous visit, the weather was sunny and bright. However, unlike my previous visit, this time the weather was cold. (It was 30ºC last time, but below 0ºC this time.) Once we walked through the gate into the town, my friends were immediately impressed by the beauty of the place. Everything in the town looked exactly the same for several centuries, except for the clothes of the inhabitants/visitors and the presence of motor vehicles. Unlike many other German cities/towns which were damaged during WW2, Rothenburg survived the world intact. Hence many buildings in the town are original and have lasted several centuries.

Like many other tourists, we went to the Markt (market square) to see the Christmas market, went up the Rathaus (just to discover that there's an admission fee of €1 to enter the tower), walked to the Burgtor and the beautiful garden outside, went up a town wall and walked along it, visited the countless souvenir shops (many of which have Japanese & Chinese signs), etc. We also visited a supermarket to grab "reduced-to-clear" gingerbread & chocolates.

We planned to take the 2pm train out of Rothenburg. However, we spent some time looking for a Snowball shop and we missed the train. (Snowball is a specialty of Rothenburg. It's a spherical pastry covered with icing sugar.) In the end we went to a big supermarket opposite the train station and bought lots and lots of chocolate...

In the evening, we arrived at Nuremberg, to see the famous Nuremberg Christmas Market - the grandest and most famous of all Christmas markets. I have seen countless photos and videos about this famous market, and I went to Nuremberg with high expectation. To my relief, the market really lived up to its name and it didn't disappoint. After a visual feast along the many rows of shops, I had a wonderful feast of Nürnberger Bratwurst, followed by a warm glass of Glühwein. The warm wine tasted good on a cold day. However, I have a low tolerance of alcohol. Soon after I gulped the glass of Glühwein, I felt drowsy. Immediately after we returned to our hostel, I fell onto my bed and fell asleep, to the amusement of my friends... Haha.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0869s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb