The Global Language


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Regensburg
June 17th 2015
Published: June 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

When one learns a language in their native county they often underestimate or even don’t give though to how communication works in the country they plan to visit. Thinking that all Germans spoke German, I too underestimated the power of dialects. Whilst staying in Bavaria I have been pummeled with the local dialect known as Bayerisch. It is German where every syllable is swallowed by the speaking person. Vowels are changed so something as simple as “danke” will be said “donke” but sounding like a Scottish man saying donkey. The fact about this dialect is that is a different language

I travelled to Berlin over the weekend with my colleges and was able to hear and experience the language I have studied for a year in the States. Hoch Deutsch or High German is the language that is taught at ASU and is also spoken by most Germans especially in the north of Germany. The form of German is very clear but technical and is actually delightful to hear and learn. In Regensburg I was beginning to think I was just terrible at understanding German and began to lose faith in my communicative abilities, but traveling to Berlin where I could speak with my cousins and actually understand the majority of what they were saying revitalized my belief in learning the language.

Although I have trouble speaking and understanding German in Bavaria, I find that most people here and in all of Germany have a decent understanding of English, which is nice to fall back onto. Upon going to an International students meeting at Regensburg University, I soon found out that most people from other countries understand and speak some kind of English. Learning this fact has made me a strong believer that English is the global language. This has its advantages and disadvantages. As a native English speaker it opens up opportunities to work and travel across the globe. When traveling it also makes you a target for people who would like to practice their English. Unfortunately that is a double edged sword. If you are a native English speaker trying to learn a foreign language you must work hard to keep the conversation in the language you are trying to learn. Also store keepers tend to think that you are rich and will try to overcharge you on their goods.

For example I went to the Turkish food market here in Regensburg to purchase a pomegranate. The price labeled on the fruit was 1.49 euro, but when I checked out the lady helping me had picked up on my American accent, even though I was speaking German, and charged me 3.00 euro. I pointed to the sticker on the fruit asked warum or why? She replied quickly in Bayerish and I began to bargain with her. After a few minutes of bickering she finally replied in broken English, “ You are American, you are rich, you afford this.” Being relatively insulted I gave the lady 2 Euro and walked out of the door with my pomegranate, only to open it later that night and find it completely rotten on the inside. In this case I considered English a disadvantage.



Overall I have discovered it is best to begin the conversation in the language of the country you are in whether you sound like a child or not. The native people will appreciate that you are taking time to learn their language and make use of it. They are also more than happy to help you or correct you on any issues you are having with that language. I have learned in Germany to speak as long as you can in German and when you have to, for the sake of clarity, break down into English. In my experience German people will be extremely excited to talk to you more and be friendlier to you, than if you started the conversation in English. Doing this also helps shake the idea that lots Europeans tend to have that Americans are arrogant and expect everyone to cater to their culture and needs.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb