Curiosity that Enlightened the Cat


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Regensburg
June 11th 2015
Published: June 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Excitement filled my mind as I had been accepted into the German Language Study Abroad program in the day before the program. I bought an EU rail global pass in anticipation of traveling all over Europe. Dr.Alexander and my GER 202 Michelle Gerber had provided me with contact information, an itinerary about the program and weekly emails updating me on the current weather, packing ideas, and even a concerning email about a train conductors strike that was taking place 2 days before my departure. None the less I was headed over with wide eyes and an open mind.

My first week in Germany on the Regensburg German Language program would interesting to say the least. Upon arriving at the Phoenix airport I had an influx of questions and concerns enter my mind. Am I going to make my connection in Chicago? Is my German effective enough to get me to Regensburg? Is the conversation class I took going to too difficult? Did I bring enough money? All of these questions were soon pushed into the back of my mind as my United flight took off as there was no turning back now.

During my flight from Chicago to Munich these questions were answered by two extremely nice and helpful gentleman. One Wolfgang, a German who had been in the US on business selling parts for breweries and Jed, a man from Kansas who was on his first trip out of the US to see his relatives in Hamburg. We talked about life, traveling, German culture and everything in between making the eight hour flight very enjoyable. Wolfgang was kind enough to help me and Jed get through customs and after we said our good byes I was on my own.

My first priority was to fill my empty stomach with some delicious currywurst and wash it down with a nice Helles beer, but before this could happen I had to get an S-Bahn ticket to the München Hauptbahnhof. I followed the signs and asked almost six employees at the München airport to solidify in my mind that I was on the right path. Using broken beginners German and getting a lot of funny looks and chuckles at my grammar I successfully communicated my way to the München Hauptbahnhof. There I savored a currywurst and sipped on a beer until my train was arrived.

My first cultural experience would not be in Regensburg. I had arrived a day before I could check in and planned to meet my cousins in the small town of Eisenburg in the state of Thuring. I boarded a train set to reach its destination in 4 hours. I had no clue where I was going to sleep that night and could only contact my cousins by Email, which I had been scurrying around the Hauptbahnhof looking for a WiFi signal to send them my train info. As I sat looking out the window a beautiful read haired girl sat next to me and smiled. I immediately used this opportunity to practice my German. When she heard me speak she quickly asked if I was American. I replied of course and then our conversation of back and forth questioning began as the train pushed along. I asked all kinds of questions about German night life, what she thinks of Germany, her favorite German foods and she reciprocated in questions about the United States. She had enlightened me on the fact that young Germans really like American pop culture something that had not even crossed my mind. Soon our paths split, but I feel that they will so cross again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb