I enjoyed having a long luxurious bath


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Regensburg
September 26th 2007
Published: October 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I decided to ride up the river for 30-40 kms to visit Weltenburg, which has the world's oldest monastic brewery founded in 1058 and an over the top Baroque decorated church dated 1716. It is set on a remote, somewhat inaccessable part of the river with high limestone cliffs and forest on either side. I cycled along the river on extremely well maintained paths along with other cyclists and the odd rollerblader- some of whom are in their middle to late age. It is still strange for me to see older people cycling everywhere. I headed to Kelheim which is the point where the Danube becomes really navigatable. I took the boat to Weltenburg to see the high narrow limestone sides of the river, rather than ride over the hill. It was Sunday and the crowds were incredible going up by boat to enjoy the main square surrounded by the Church and monastry, eating and drinking as the Germans appear apt to do at any opportunity. I checked into a wonderful 'Gastehaus' (read Guest house- obvious isn't it?) which was extremely well cared for with a very peaceful garden setting and breakfast room with plenty of glass to take in the view. ($30). I wandered up the hill flanked with deciduous trees in colour and wandered through the forest on the top of the hill which looks down on the monastry and river bend.

Weltenburg - Tegernheim

It was a long ride today of about 100kms. It was more than I wanted really as the place where I headed to, Donaustauf, just out of Regensburg had all of it's accomodation filled. As some of the places were up fairly steep hills I was a bit disappointed to find this out! I had to return several kms to the previous town. It is a lesson to me to not leave it too late in the day to find accomodation. The path and signs along the way continue to be very good. It's lovely to ride and not worry about cars. Even on the road there are few cars and they are so much more aware and respectful of cyclists.
I started the day cycling up the hill and down into Kelheim where I spent an hour or so walking up through stunning forest with great views down to the Danube to see the Befrecunghalle (read Liberation Hall and don't try saying it in German after a stein or two) which holds an imposing position over the town and river. King Ludwig 1 built it in 1863 as a memorial in honour of the military struggles against Napoleon in 1813 - 1815 and German independence. It is a round hall on an extremely grand scale. Why is it religion and war that inspires people to build such impressive edifices? I'll let my photos tell the story.

Tegernheim - Bogan

Well the beautiful weather has stopped and I had to don the wet weather gear and head off in the rain. Not particularly cold or heavy rain but fairly persistant. I talked with a couple of older couples travelling together (One from Canberra & one from UK). It helped setting off together in the rain about the same time and meeting up again on the trail. It was good to know I was wasn't alone in the rian. I was pleased to stop for something to eat and look aroung Straubing with its coloured buildings in an impressive main street. Feeling damp, I pushed on another 12 kms to Bogan to shorten the next stretch to Passau. I'm staying in a nice 'Gastehaus' and enjoyed having a long luxurious bath (no water shortages here) while my things dried sprawled out across the room and on the oil filled heaters attached to the walls.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Befrecunghalle Befrecunghalle
Befrecunghalle

That's a person standing down there. Photos can never give the scale of things.
Some of the good signageSome of the good signage
Some of the good signage

Koala Ted makes his first appearance


8th October 2007

Just Beautiful!
Dear Peter, What an awesome adventure through this countries. I wish i was there with you. All the best keep safe! Love Silvana
8th October 2007

Rain?.. What's that??
Hi Peter!.. The countryside looks absolutely gorgeous - and green!! And rain!.. we're all jealous here in SA so make the most of it : ) Nothing exciting to report here. Still no sign of an election, a bit like rain clouds - you know it's out there but still nothing productive!!?.. Keep pedalling and look forward to your next blog : ) Cheers, Carole
8th October 2007

Hello form Home
Peter, I am playing some music Mozart may have written in Vienna. I liked the autumnal photos of the Danube. Can we change the Blue Danube Waltz to the Brown Danube Waltz? Strauss would not be happy about his river. The blueness would have come from the clarity of the water. Let’s not think about what turns it brown. Adelaide would make a fabulous bike city. We need to get rid of Harbo first, and a Labor gov. that promised to integrate and expand the bike network, and in office it was one of the first promises they broke. I am so glad you are enjoying your holiday. Many people have commented on your blog. Happy pedaling. James & the fish.
8th October 2007

Just love that Koala Ted..... you just can't stop him from getting in the photos A? xox CaroleinSydney
8th October 2007

Koala Ted
Hi CaroleinSydney. Yep he's a problem. Now I'm not one for thinking I haven't been to a place if I don't have a photo of me there, but this is K.Ted's first trip and he's still proud to be Australian Love Pete
8th October 2007

Awesome Adventure
Hi Silvana. Yes we could take photos together. You would love it of course and the cycling would come to you over the days and not be hard work. It's funny though, for me this is not an adventure as there are so many others doing it and it's all pretty easy. Not that I'm complaining. I think my days at turning up at remote villages with 'the natives' are over- on a bicycle, anyway. Love Pete

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb