It was Goosebumps. Right Time and Place.


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria
September 28th 2007
Published: October 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

28th Septmeber.....Passau to Linz......

The next day saw clouds and an occasional sprinkle of rain as I crossed the 'border' into Austria. No demands of passport anymore, instead you are welcomed by a sign that is in 4 different languages. The old custom house is now an art gallery and you don't have to change your money. I had a musical experience of a different kind yesterday. It was one of those magical moments that I tend to have when I am away by myself. I was riding along with my MP3 player on random which means I could have anything! Picture me approaching where the river does this big sweep around thing for which there has been signage for some time and which I have been expecting from the British Headmaster in my guide book. On comes something classical and I am trying to work out who it is. Debussy? It was so apt for the dark surounding forests, high on each side, the wind blowing sheets of autumn leaves down and along before me on the path like in a movie. The music reaches a climax at the EXACT MOMENT I turn to see the 180 degree bend. Can you guess what it was?

Being on random it could have been say Peggy Lee singing "Crazy" or Simon & Garfunkel doing "Bridge Over Troubled Water" or even "Feels like Rain" from Monsoon Wedding. But no it's Mahler's 5th- the Finale. It was goosebumps. Right time and place, and it finishes as I arrive. I had to cross the river at this point by getting a private ferry. As I get on the boat it gets windy and foreboding as it begins to rain and then eases as I get to the other side and then stops almost as soon as I start riding off again. It was a strange experience.

At a cursory view Austria seems less controlled than Germany. Smoking is VERY prevalant (That's bad) and I've seen dogs in restaurants but they do have signs to say no dogs in supermarkets. On the other hand I have noticed that while dogs seem to go everywhere they are well socialized and I haven't been chased or harrassed by a dog at all on this trip. You also very rarely hear them bark (That's good). It is quiet at night. Austria seems to be more expensive but not outrageously so. It appears generally, as did Germany, to be much the same price as home. Beer is cheaper (that's good), coffee is about the same etc. Petrol is more expensive (who cares) at 1.35 Euro in Germany but a bit more in Austria. Like Germany, Austria is very aware of the environmental impact. (That's good) No plastic bags in supermarkets, double glazing on windows appear almost standard, recycling is sorted and mandatory, Toyoto Prius advertised on TV etc. I was talking to someone I met about this and they seemed to think that it had been that way for nearly 20 yrs ! We can't even stop putting huge amounts of money into road infrastructure with little regard to the future. (new bridges without cycling access ?) They think it strange that we don't use footpaths for cycling. We seem to have this fear of bicycles. Our Govts seem to have little understanding of what the future may look like and what we need to prepare for the changes. (That's bad)

Cheers
Pedallingpete




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Sculpture along the TrailSculpture along the Trail
Sculpture along the Trail

I wanted Koala Ted to get in this one but he thought he would look a bit insignificant.
Koala Ted getting in with the LocalsKoala Ted getting in with the Locals
Koala Ted getting in with the Locals

He's such a diplomat. I can only sit back and watch in awe.


16th October 2007

hello from the Peachey
Dear ((Peter)) What are marvelous adventure not only do i love your pictures.......but also your writing i feel like i am there with you as i read it. I cant wait for you to return and get an opportunity to talk with you about all this. Life is good here. Talk soon Love Silvana
17th October 2007

Thanks G&M
Yes I actually like travelling by myself, particularly cycling where you don't always either have to look behind you to see that the other person is till with you or no be able to just stop when you want to. I would James mad if he had to stop all the time like I do to take photos! We are planning to do some travelling together when I retire properly next year.
17th October 2007

Life is Good
It's nice to hear someone say that life is good while they are at work! That's quite a compliment that you feel that my writing brings the trip alive for you. Keep staying positive. Love Pedallingpete
18th October 2007

TUT TUT!
Doh! That Koala Ted again :D xox
18th October 2007

Koala Ted
Ted, he's such a hoot isn't he. God, he's having a good time here!
18th October 2007

Hi M No Koala Ted was cuddled up in my pannier and didn't want to get out for anything. Pigs don't turn him on. He enjoyed seeing a real fox the other day rushing back into the sweetcorn crops. Not time for the photo opportunity though. Love Pete

Tot: 0.385s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 27; qc: 113; dbt: 0.1064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb