The Alps and Castles


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Neuschwanstein
July 7th 2014
Published: July 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So I woke up early today to get to the train station nice and early for my day trip to Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau. Little did I know, the people, Max and Michelle, that I met yesterday at Dachau were on the same train as me but got kicekd at the next stop since their tickets didn*t start working until 9. Turns out though after grabbing breackfast and getting on a bus they hop on as well and we ended up traveling together for the day.

The scenes were simply amazing and part heart attack giving since it was a 40 minute steep climb up the mountain. The bridge overlooking the castel Marienbrücke was cool, narrow and crowded which made it partially terrifying as well, the boards actually bounced up and down as you walked over and looking down 200 feet. Getting into the castle was sadly not an option, the line to simply get a ticket was over an hour and a half wait along with the fact that waiting in line that long did not mean you would even be able to get in today. The walk up though was cool and covered with massive snails again, its sad I do not see as much wild life here as I would back home, even in Bay for that matter, but the scenery is crazy. I did on the way down run into a "herdie-gerdie" player and wanted to just get a picture, but he wanted me to crank it and it was hysterical! He was a friendly guy and got excited and gave me a card when I told him a friend of mine in the states can play as well. There were lifts one could take up the mountain and hang gliding from the top of the mountains as well.

After getting back I took a stroll through Munich and found buffalow sausage for sale...so obviously tomorrow thats where I am going!

I finally broke down and bought myself a Lederhose today made of cow hide, it was quite cheap compared to the others and marked down excessivly from 200,00 €. I am debating wearing it to the air port so that the kids can easily find me, we will see! It is crazy I am coming down to my last stretch here, this trip is flying by fast sadly.

Tomorrow Germany plays Brazil, Brazils #1 player is out from football forever and Germanys chances to moving on to top two are really high, a group of us are going to the Biergarden tonight to view it, it should be great!

Servus!


Additional photos below
Photos: 81, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



8th July 2014

Todd I LOVE the pictures with you in them! You look GREAT and SO HAPPY! Miss you!

Tot: 0.388s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb