Short flight


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
April 5th 2007
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Cathedral Church of Our Lady01 Cathedral Church of Our Lady01 Cathedral Church of Our Lady

The towers of the church that survived the bombing of WWII, unlike the rest of the church that had to be rebuilt.
Geo: 48.1207, 11.4415

Tonight I am meeting Jen at the train station. She's flying into Munich for the Easter weekend. The two travels options for getting to Munich were train and plane. Train was over €100, so I flew and saved myself about €40 and four hours of my time. After breakfast at the hostel, I caught the tram to the train station and then the train to the airport. I flew with Air Berlin. The drinks trolley came down the isle and I said no and then I noticed that people weren't paying- it was free!! Well, in that case, yes I will have a drink and a snack. Was a bit annoyed that I slept the whole way through my other flight, as it was also with Air Berlin- missed out on my free snack, no other cheap airline gives you free snacks, but make you pay twice as much for food and drinks.

As I ate my chips and drank coke, I enjoyed the German landscape of patchwork fields and rivers. In no time we landed in Munich. I caught the bus from the airport to the train station and started walking to the hostel. After dumping my bag in
02 Rathaus02 Rathaus02 Rathaus

Rathaus (Town Hall), part of the town hall.
my room, which we were obviously sharing with boys as it was very messy, I headed out towards the old town to see some of the sights.

Spent the next few hours wandering around Munich. Later that night went to the train station and met Jen. Went back to the hostel and discussed what to do over the next few days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

03 Marian Column03 Marian Column
03 Marian Column

The Marian Column on the Town Hall containing the Glockenspeil clock.
04 Residenz04 Residenz
04 Residenz

Part of the Royal Palace.
05 Theatinerkirche05 Theatinerkirche
05 Theatinerkirche

The church of St. Kajetan is the beautiful yellow baroque church. It was made to look a bit like the churches of Rome or Venice that's why it is one of the most beautiful churches in Munich.
06 Church and memorial06 Church and memorial
06 Church and memorial

The tower of the yellow church and a memorial.
07 Residenz07 Residenz
07 Residenz

One of the many entrances to the Residenz.
08 Residenz08 Residenz
08 Residenz

Part of the Residenz.
09 State Opera09 State Opera
09 State Opera

The Bavaria State Opera House.
10 Residenz10 Residenz
10 Residenz

Another part of the royal residence with a statue of Franz Joseph.
11 Tower11 Tower
11 Tower

Some tower building in the city.
12 Church12 Church
12 Church

A tower and a church as seen from the market.


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb