I beg your pardon, I never promised you a bier garten


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
July 17th 2015
Published: July 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

On the subject of pretzels, your correspondent was of the opinion that they were small crisp type things, that came in small crisp type packets. Imagine my surprise then, when Wendy the Navigator came out of a bread shop with something the size of her hand - it was a real pretzel - made of bread and then baked !!! To confuse me even more, they don't call them pretzels - each town or City seems to have a local name for them. I can't remember what they are called in Cologne or named in Nuremburg or mentioned in Munich, so I hope that has cleared that up.

On the subject of Munich, that is where our cavalcade of one stopped next, which was just as well as I had read something about it being famous for Oktoberfest. Obviously I couldn't just come out with a desire to come here for beer, no, I would have to be trickier than that to outwit Wendy - so the conversation went as follows :

me - Darling, I have recently read about something called Oktoberfest in Munich. I wonder what that could be ? Perhaps it is a celebration of the month of your birthday.

Wendy - you just want to drink beer here don't you ??

I fear she may have seen through my subterfuge.

Now, Munich is a very big city and when I looked on the map at the location of our campsite, I didn't so much as think it was a long way from the centre of the city, more that it was closer to Hungary. I needn't have worried though, as the ever efficient Munchners put a bus stop right outside the camp and put another bus stop right outside the tube station from where we could get a train straight into the city centre -marvellous. The campsite itself was well laid out and provided all the amenities that we had come to expect , but with one addition - a sign that showed a dog squatting down with rocks coming out of it's backside and a red line across it. Your correspondent wondered what this could be and so asked Cusco who is the font of all things canine . Once he explained, I thought about it. Now, anyone who owns or has owned a dog knows that once it has gone in to squatting mode, neither hell nor high water are going to make it move. Cusco majestically held up traffic on the Spain/Portugal border area by carrying out this process, and I for one have no ntention of picking up a hound in mid squat merely to follow a sign at a campsite !!!!

The centre of Munich is quite wonderful. It is nearly all pedestrianised and is a delight to stroll through. Huge cathedrals and churches mingle with palaces and markets and yes dear readers, oh yes -countless bars and excellent beer gardens. Your correspondent came to the conclusion that Munich is a fine place indeed


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



17th July 2015

Great post!
Following your travels, eagerly! Keep up the great writing (and drinking)! :-)
22nd July 2015
W in terror as G picks up HER pretzel

I love your travels and adventures
I am watching Facebook and reading the blogs with interest and think you are all having the best time ever (Cusco being family with you and Gordon of course!) I am enjoying Europe without having ever visited the countries and places you are visiting just by reading the blog. Did visit South of France and saw lots of camper vans and checked everyone to see if you all in any of them - still envious of all the places you are seeing and hope you are having the best time of your lives. Keep blogging!!

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb