Germany - Home of Volkswagens and Kinderwagens


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
August 9th 2006
Published: August 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Winter Scene with KinderwagenWinter Scene with KinderwagenWinter Scene with Kinderwagen

What's a winter picture in Munich without a Kinderwagen?

You don't have a kinderwagen yet? - Finding a kinderwagen


One of the first things our new neighbor, Kristin, offered to help us with when we first moved into our apartment in Munich (8 weeks before Kaanosaurus was due) was to bring us to a baby store to get a stroller. She didn't just offer once, but nearly every time we saw her. At that point, we were still sleeping on a borrowed air mattress (not recommended for very pregnant women) and eating off of borrowed plates. A stroller was not at the top of the priority list. The second week, our things arrived from the States, and we spent every waking moment trying to unpack everything and find places for them in the apartment-without-closets (see previous entry about apartments in Germany). Two weeks after moving in, she was starting to get a little anxious. I had other things in mind - we didn't have a crib yet, I was trying to register for German classes and we were still unpacking. Not knowing her very well, her kind quesitoning came across as, well, an odd stroller obsession. A stroller was simply not a priority for us still. In part so she
Kaan's Kinderwagen in MarienplatzKaan's Kinderwagen in MarienplatzKaan's Kinderwagen in Marienplatz

Some days, I have to carry a lot of stuff, and the Summer Buggy just won't do, even in the summer.
wouldn't think we were rude for continual refusals to go to the baby store, and in part so that she would stop asking, I went to Baby Reinartz with Kristin and her then 10-month-old baby, Felix. And there I learned that in fact Kristin is quite normal and is just so gentle that she didn't know how to tell me that I needed to order a stroller ASAP because it takes six weeks to get a stroller in Germany. There are some strollers you can get immediately, but many take *gasp* a month and half to receive. I ordered ours that very first time we went, and it arrived three days before Kaan.

You will push a baby in THAT? In Munich? In the winter?!

The day we went to Baby Reinartz, Levent was at work. After much research in the US, we had decided to get the Inglesina Zippy stroller. It was convertible to a pseudo-pram, was lightweight, easy folding, and had small wheels. Ok, I admit it, I chose it, Levent went along with what I said. I really wanted this stroller. It was a bit on the pricey side at over $200, but I had
Jogging StrollerJogging StrollerJogging Stroller

They exist here, too, but you don't see quite as many people here jogging with them.
my heart set on it. And I was in luck! They had it at Baby Reinartz. So, off we went on what I thought would be a straightforward journey. I quickly located the Zippy, and that was the beginning of the end of my plans. When I mentioned that I wanted to buy it, Kristin seemed... uncomfortable. She politely and gently suggested to me that there were many other optoins at the store. It took the salesperson's more direct intervention for me to question my choice...

"You're going to put your baby in that? In Munich? In the winter? Do you know how cold it is in Munich in the winter?" Of course I did. I had, after all, lived in Minneapolis (Minnesota, home of -40 degree windchills in the winter and the inside of your nose freezing if you stand outside for one minute waiting for a bus). I could handle cold. After some discussion, it became clear to me that they were not going to let me purchase the Inglesina Zippy.

"Kinderwagen' versus Buggy (Buggy is also capitalized because in German, they capitalize all nouns. It is freaking out the English teacher in me). Kinderwagens
The HessaThe HessaThe Hessa

This photo does not do the Hessa justice. It really is the Ferrari or Rolls Royce of Kinderwagens.
are large, much larger than American strollers. They are more like small SUVs. They are like the old-fashioned prams, but with tons of cool new features. Buggies are basically what Americans call strollers. But this was a pretty big purchase, and I didn't really feel comfortable making it without Levent being able to see the strollers, too. "Maybe I'll come back later, with Levent," I said. That made Kristin very nervous...

6 weeks...
It takes around 6 weeks to get a stroller here. Yep. No hopping down to Babies 'R Us and picking up a stroller on your way to the delivery room. You have to plan ahead here. So I had to make my decision without Levent, and there were so many choices I had never considered.

Wheels
We had thought we'd get a stroller with small wheels because they looked lighter and easier to maneuver. WRONG! Small wheels, apparently, don't go well in the snow. And there is a lot of snow here. As a compromise, I chose a kinderwagen with double medium wheels in the front and large ones in the back. I also had a choice of pneumatic versus rubber, and I chose the
Keep your eye on your strollerKeep your eye on your strollerKeep your eye on your stroller

People actually have locks for their strollers here, like we have locks for our bikes in the US. These two were actually being attended by their owners, just outside of the frame. The one on the left is a Bugaboo
rubber ones because then we wouldn't have to worry about inflating them. Fortunately, we didn't have to choose any hub caps!

Color
For the kinderwagen we chose, there was a choice of fabrics. All were fairly dull for this model, so we chose a classic navy. The kinderwagen was feeling more and more like a car...

Accessories
And yes, there are accessories, too. I have read in a number of places that one of the main complaints of Americans who buy European strollers is that they don't have cupholders. There are, in fact, many Starbucks shops here in Munich but indeed you rarely see Germans walking around with a paper cup of coffee in their hand. Starbucks here actually have ceramic mugs! You can get your cup of coffee to go in a paper cup, but you won't have a place to put it in your Kinderwagen.

There are, however, other accessories you never knew you needed. For example, a rain cover. How many Americans that you know bother with rain covers on their strollers? Well, in the US of course kids spend more time in car seats than in strollers, so rain covers are not
Bugaboo LadyBugaboo LadyBugaboo Lady

This woman definitely fits the Bugaboo part. She also happens to be walking in the Maximilianstrasse area - the fanciest shopping district in Munich. Bvlgari, Chanel, Louis Vuitton, Burberry - they're all here.
a requirement. But here, where even if you have a car, there is no parking where you are going, so you end up walking everywhere with your kinderwagen, rain or snow or shine. And if you don't have a rain cover, then your baby has no protection from the snow, rain, and very cold wind. Then there is the mosquito net. We have one, but haven't used it yet because we haven't been in mosquito territory much. It is a nice idea, though. Then there is the polar fleece sleeping bag and the sheep fleece kinderwagen pram bag liner. Those are to protect your baby from the cold. Even though the pram bag - which is like a soft-sided bassinet that goes onto the fully-reclined seat - is often padded, it's still not warm enough. I decided not to go for either one, figuring that we could use blankets or dress Kaan really warmly instead (or get one later) but the shopkeeper was so worried at that point about me and my crazy ideas that she threw the polar fleece liner in for free!

There are lots of different kinderwagens available here that you may have never heard of.
A stroller is a strollerA stroller is a strollerA stroller is a stroller

Kaan and Charlotte, asleep in their Summer Buggies. Kaan's is new. Charlotte's is old. They are both sleeping just fine :)
Here is a quick description of them:

The Hesba


The ferarri of kinderwagens. Or perhaps the Rolls Royce. It is rubber and chrome, with excellent suspension. It is very retro and can be spotted in the classy parts of town. From my uneducated observation, it seems to be driven by mothers who are either wealthy but not flashy Hollywood types, or have wealthy parents, and have a high degree of education. The Hesba doesn't fold, so its owners need to have another kinderwagen, or a buggy for traveling. Learn about the Hesba here. If Hesbas were in the US, I think their owners would shop at The Banana Republic and Ann Taylor and would drive upscale SUVs. At 500 to 600 Euros for the base model, you are buying yourself a status symbol. There are knock-offs available for 200, but putting Lexus paint on a Ford Focus doesn't make the Focus a Lexus, now does it?

The Teutonia


This is what we have. There are many models of Teutonias, and you can see them here. Teutonias are very sturdy, lighter weight metal than Hesbas, and somewhat more sporty. They can fold up, but once folded are still not incredibly small so you couldn't fit one in a Mini - or even in a VW Golf probably. Teutonias have been around for a long time, and have the reputation of being passed down from generation to generation. I am not sure who drives them. Definitely an assortment of people. If they were in the US, their owners would likely shop at Eddie Bauer, the GAP, and drive Subarus - hey, that's us. We got the right stroller. We like it. The price of Teutonias varies, but the base model of ours was around 300 Euros. Not cheap, definitely, but I figured since we weren't getting a cool car here, at least Kaan would travel in style and comfort.

The Bugaboo


I like our stroller, but Bugaboos win for design, if you ask me. Hesba drivers probably do not like Bugaboos because they are so NOT classic (see photo). They are all over the place here, and when I first noticed them on the street (after having bought our Teutonia) I wondered why I hadn't paid more serious attention to them in the store. Then I found out that the base frame - not including anything but the basic toddler seat - goes for around 700 Euros - and I realized that after seeing that price tag, I probably didn't bother looking any longer. I happen to know that these are very popular in the Hollywood baby boom right now (I admit to reading People magazine online daily) and if you click on the "Hollywood Baby Boom" link, you are likely to find pictures of stars driving their black Bugaboos, presumably with their babies inside. Apparently, the princess of Spain also has one for her newborn. What's amazing is how many of them there are here, considering the price, and considering that their teensy-weensy front wheels are not practical in the snow. It would be like roller-blading on a frozen lake, but to each his own. Red and orange are more popular in this part of Munich. You can learn more about Bugaboos here.

Summer Buggy


Where there are kinderwagens in the winter, there are buggies in the summer. We decided that we needed a stroller that was actually portable when we traveled, so before going to Paris for a weekend, we bought a buggy. Levent was so excited to have a lightweight stroller. He couldn't wait until Paris to use it, he wanted to go to the biergarten with it that night. "We can put away the kinderwagen for the summer and just use this one!" he said. "Are you serious?" I said (or thought - not sure). So off we went to the biergarten. 10 seconds out of our apartment, on our way down the hill, Levent said, "Wow, you can really tell the difference between these two!" The buggy has no suspension, no large wheels to get up and down stairs and through gravel smoothly. It's actually work to push. And, important to me, it didn't have space to put the groceries. Like not having much of a trunk. So, the buggy gets used now and then when I don't have grocery shopping to do and don't plan on strolling through the park, and it's great when we travel. But we definitely have come to appreciate our kinderwagen.

Social Statement - choose your stroller wisely


In the home of BMW and Volkswagen, it's more convenient (in the city) to drive a kinderwagen than a car. So, rather than looking at your car and making judgements (true or not) about who you are, people look at your kinderwagen and do the same. A friend has told me to mention in this blog that she can look at other people's kinderwagens and tell whether or not she could be friends with that person. Whew - glad she likes our kinderwagen!


Advertisement



9th August 2006

Magazine
Saskia, You should really send these to Parent or other magazines. They are wonderful!
9th August 2006

Freelance writer in the making?
Thanks :) I am definitely thinking about looking into freelance writing. For now, I'm just trying to hone my skills for anyone who wants to read. Parent might not be the right one for this particular entry, though, because these prams are not readily available in the US. Nice thought, though!
10th August 2006

Kinderwagen Crazy
As you well know, I am totally fascinated by German strollers. It was the first thing I noticed when we arrived. I have been to the baby store just to look at strollers, and I grill everyone I know about theirs. This is all fine and dandy, but seems a little obsessive...considering that I don't have any children! I seriously considered buying one before we left Germany, just in case...but luckily, my husband talked me out of that one!
14th August 2006

invitation to your blog
Saskia, you should invite Anne Topenot to your blog. She is now living in Nice, I saw her this week end, and she'll be delighted to read you, and see your lovely family pictures! Kiss, Mila.
14th August 2006

No invitation needed
Mila, Go ahead and forward the main page to Anne - she is welcome to subscribe :) (I don't have her contact information) bisous :) Saskia
17th August 2006

The NYC stroller
I think their might be a similiar obsession here in New York with strollers, but since I have no kids, I don't know any specifics. Ever since reading your blog, I have paid a little more attention and I think that the Bugaboo is very popular with the moms here. There are a group of them who do stroller group workouts in Central Park--it looks fun, but I am sure their is certain status in the type of stroller you bring along.
17th August 2006

Stroller workout
For me, just pushing the darn stroller around all day, every day, loaded with Kaan's gear and groceries and stuff, is a workout! :)
12th April 2007

Good observations
Your wit, writing style, choice of subjects, and keen observations make a great read and sometimes make me laugh. I visit German friends in Stuttgart and Ulm every other year or so. Though they speak English very well, they don't think to tell me things that are common to them. I am learning from you some subtilties of SW German culture. Please keep writing, I'll be reading. Thanks!
18th April 2007

Being Foreign
Thanks, Mimi, for your comment - I think being a foreigner makes it easier to observe. It's also a good way to learn about one's own culture - read books about it written by immigrants :)
16th September 2007

The importance of mosquitonets
Yes Europeans put mosquitonets on their prams. ´here is a reminder of how important a mosquitonet is. A Danish mother of a 4 month old boy, left her son to nap outside in his pram. She did not put the mosquitonet on, because she would put the boy and the pram into the shed and just leave the door open for air to come in. So it wasn´t neccesary, so she thought. 4 Hours later the boy still had not woken up, and she became worried and went outside to check on him. He was dead!! He had swallowed a whasp that had stung him in his throath. This could have happend even if she had been with him.
14th May 2008

Need a Hesba wheel!
I was just given a Hesba Pram hand-me-down, but when I went to pick it up, one of the wheels is missing. Does anyone know where I can purchase an extra wheel? I love this stroller, and it would be a shame if I cannot use it. Please advise.
20th May 2008

Hesba wheel
Are you located in Germany? In the US? In the UK? Australia? That will make a difference... You could try e-bay?
22nd June 2008

Need a Hesba wheel!
I am in the US. I have already checked e-bay, but I don't read German and the only place I can find information on the Hesba Condor Coupe is in german. Please help! Thanks!
15th July 2008

anyone heard of the Haberkorn Variosport Kinderwagen Maxi Cosi Adapter 2912
this stroller looks amazing but as i don't live in Germany where it sold, I have not seen anyone with it, and was wondering if anyone ever heard of it, and what you can tell me about it.
13th August 2008

hesba prams
please check out our website www.janstewartprams.com - we are based in Scotland, and supply Hesba Prams ( we also speak very good english)
2nd December 2008

Expectant mom
Thank you for your blog! I was in Germany this summer, and though we weren't pregnant yet, I fell in love with the German strollers. Now that we're expecting, I definitely want to get our baby a German stroller. What model is your Teutonia? I've noticed that there are several chassis design. Also, what baby furniture and gear (ie strollers) stores would you recommend in Germany (Munich or Frankfurt areas). Thanks!
6th December 2008

Baby Stuff in Germany
I think our Teutonia model is the Pixxel, but we bought it in 2005, and they change/update them. They have much cooler ones now! And though for a long time I questioned whether we spent too much, I am still thrilled with it and it's carrying around our second son, looking brand new. Something that it has, which a lot of other strollers don't, is the ability to wash all of the cloth bits without having to unscrew anything - they all come on and off very easily. As for the other furniture, we've just got simple stuff from Baby Walz and Ikea - kids grow out of it all so fast, I don't personally think it's worth it to get anything very fancy. Good luck with your pregnancy ;)
3rd March 2009

Hesba Stroller
We now sell the Hesba online @ Iloveyourstroller.com
12th July 2009

Moving from US to Germany
Loved the article and appreciated all the information. I am moving to Germany in December and will be due a few months after that. Should I purchase a stroller here in the US and take it just to be on the safe side or wait to try to get one of the ones you suggested?
12th July 2009

To buy at home or in Germany?
Hello Jennifer, In my opinion, wait and buy one here. They are a bit more expensive than there, but they are better equipped for German winters. I think that if I'd bought one in the US, I would have really regretted it after seeing all the cool strollers here! Good luck in your move, and take it easy. :) Moving while pregnant is more stressful than we give ourselves credit for!
9th October 2009

help))
I very much want Teutoni Elegance 2009 2 in 1 where in Germany it is possible заказть with delivery in Rossiiju, or prompt factory Teutonia co-ordinates, I will ask the girlfriend living in Germany to buy of it to me! Thanks Lena
18th January 2010

i would like to know more about hesba strollers<<
17th February 2010

Hesba Kinderwagen stroller
I happened upon your site with keyword Hesba and i am surprised that you say that Hesba does not fold when in fact it folds beautifuly. Compact, simple and elegant it will fit into almost any car boot/trunk. May I suggest though that only the most discerning, determined buyer should contenplate its purchase as it cannot be found just anywhere. Hesba are very choosy about the selection of retail outlets for example there is only one supplier in the whole of the United Kingdom who markets it under Churchill Hesselbacher (Hesba) and guess what, it turns out that this retailer is the U.K. nursery retailer of the year, how picky is that, you cant even buy it in Harrods This kinderwagen can even be bespoke designed by its future owner. They have an incredible array of styles, fabrics, interiors and chassis options you can even choose the wheel options its like ordering a Rolls Royce, nothing is impossible, not even gold plating. Still want one, enjoy the chase and the challenge. The manufacturer does not even display a dealer network they keep you guessing. try www.janstewartprams.com they will export to the right client "maybe" good luck.
7th April 2010

Great post!
We are living over here in Germany (in Wiesbaden) and trying to choose a stroller almost makes me want to try. This was helpful. I have been looking at Quinnys (if I feel I can suck it up and afford it) but knew nothing about Teutonias. Hmm.... We are stationed over here with the military so I can easily buy American strollers but the German ones seem a lot less plasticy - and I want to blend in. This was a great blog! I need to meet some German moms to help out...
7th April 2010

Quinnys are nice, too
We are still happy with our Teutonia (4.5 years after we bought it), but also have a small Quinny for traveling. It is fabulous - I'd recommend Quinny strollers, as well. Completely different look, but very robust and comfortable! I'd go for one of the larger ones for daily use, though. The smallest one does not have any sort of basket for your shopping or all the other things you have to carry, and you can't really hang anything on the handle either, due to balance issues. This only applies to the smallest of the Quinnys, and even so, it's been very handy and is also easy to drive :)

Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 7; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0897s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb